There are two things you need when citing something in a paper: an in-text citation and a bibliographic entry. An in-text citation is the limited amount of information that your reader can use to look through your cited list/bibliography and find the full bibliographic entry so that she can access the cited work if necessary. In APA, a basic in-text citation in an essay is made up of whatever comes first in the bibliographic entry (author's last name or the title of an anonymous work), the year it was published, and, if there are any, the page numbers where you found the quote or data or information (p. X for one page, pp. X-Y for multiple pages).
In-text citation for a source with page numbers:
If you are citing a book with the following bibliographic entry:
Shipman, P. (2021). Our oldest companions: The story of the first dogs. Harvard University Press. https://doi.org/10.4159/9780674269941.
...then your in-text citation would look like this:
Shipman (2021) argues: "when we talk about dogs and the origin and evolution of dogs, we are also talking about people" (p. 2).
OR
Some scientists have argued that humans domesticated wolves into dogs on two separate occasions (Shipman, 2021, pp. 35-47).
In-text citations for works with multiple authors:
If the work you are citing has 21 or fewer authors, you must list them all (last name, first initial) in your bibliography like follows:
Larson, G., Karlsson, E. K., Perri, A., Webster, M. T., Ho, S. Y. W., Peters, J., Stahl, P. W., Piper, P. J., Lingaas, F., Fredholm, M., Comstock, K. E., Modiano, J. F., Schelling, C., Agoulnik, A. I., Leegwater, P. A., Dobney, K., Vigne, J.-D., Vilà, C., Andersson, L., & Lindblad-Toh, K. (2012). Rethinking dog domestication by integrating genetics, archeology, and biogeography. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America, 109(23), 8878–8883. http://www.jstor.org/stable/41603020.
When making an in-text citation for such a work, instead of listing all the authors' last names, you can just give the first author's last name and follow it with et al., with is Latin for "and others":
Larson, et al. (2012) note that since most modern dog breeds only emerged over the last 150 years, their genome can only tell us so much about ancient dog domestication (pp. 8878, 8882).
OR
Since most modern dog breeds only emerged over the last 150 years, their genome can only tell us so much about ancient dog domestication (Larson, et al., 2012, pp. 8878, 8882).
In-text citation for multiple books by the same author:
If, however, your bibliography has multiple works by the same author published in the same year, list them alphabetically by title in your bibliography, and attach a, b, c, etc. to the year. If, for example, you have the following two works in your bibliography:
Grimm, D. (2017a). Earliest evidence for dog breeding found on remote Siberian island. Science. https://www.science.org/content/article/earliest-evidence-dog-breeding-found-remote-siberian-island.
Grimm, D. (2017b). These may be the world's first images of dogs—and they're wearing leashes. Science. https://www.science.org/content/article/these-may-be-world-s-first-images-dogs-and-they-re-wearing-leashes.
You would format an in-text citation as follows:
There is evidence that humans leashed their early domesticated dogs just like we do today (Grimm, 2017b).
In-text citations for sources without page numbers:
If you are citing an online article without page numbers, you should, if possible, cite your information by paragraph number (para. instead of p.). For example, if you were citing information from the seventh paragraph of this online article:
Hirst, K. K. (2019, April 25). Dog History: How and Why Dogs were Domesticated. ThoughtCo. https://www.thoughtco.com/how-and-why-dogs-were-domesticated-170656.
...you would format your in-text citation as follows:
The oldest fossilized remains of a domesticated dog yet found were discovered in Germany and dated to 14,000 years ago (Hirst, 2019, para. 7).
The preferred citation style for Biology Courses at Daley College is APA (American Psychological Association). The resources below can help you learn how to format your citations.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by 
Concise Guide to APA Style by
Use this infographic to help figure out when you should cite something! Note that, at the beginning, when it asks, "Is the information, data, or opinion your idea?" that includes quotations, images, and sound recordings. Are the specific words, photograph, painting, song, etc. yours or someone else's?
Atherton, R. (2020). Should I cite this? Purdue OWL. https://owl.purdue.edu/owl/avoiding_plagiarism/should_i_cite_this_poster.html.
Hanging Indentations
APA (and other citation styles) require that you format your bibliographical entries with hanging indentations. A hanging indentation is when your top line sticks out half an inch to the left past any remaining lines below. Hanging indentations make bibliography lists easier to search through:
Murariu, D. T. (2019). First domestication [Review of The first domestication: How wolves and humans coevolved, by R. Pierotti & B. R. Fogg]. Journal of Mammalogy, 100(4), 1403–1405. https://www.jstor.org/stable/27009535.
Pierotti, R., & Fogg, B. R. (2017). The first domestication: How wolves and humans coevolved. Yale University Press. https://doi.org/10.12987/yale/9780300226164.001.0001.
Shipman, P. (2021). Our oldest companions: The story of the first dogs. Harvard University Press. https://doi.org/10.4159/9780674269941.
How to Format Hanging Indentations
Microsoft Word: Highlight the text you wish to format to hanging indentation, or get to where you want to start formatting that way. Under the Home tab at the top, look for the Paragraph section of the menu (it looks like the above image). Click on the tiny expand box in the bottom right corner. 
The menu to the right should appear. In the middle, under Indentation, there is a pull-down menu labelled Special. Click on it, and select Hanging. The box to the right, By, should automatically set to 0.5" or half an inch.
Google Docs: There is a similar way to format hanging indentations in Google Docs. Highlight the text you want to format that way, or get to the place in your document where you want to start formatting hanging indentations. On the top menu bar, click on Format, then Align & Indent, and then Indentation Options. Under Special indent, select Hanging and set it to .5 (inches).
Apple Pages, Microsoft Word, and Google Docs: All three programs allow you to format a hanging indentation through the ruler function. Highlight the text you want to format that way or get to where you want to start formatting that way. Then, if it is not already on, turn on the ruler function: in Microsoft Word, click on View in the top menu, and check the box for Ruler, or else type in Show Ruler into the Tell me what you want to do search; if you are using Apple Pages or Google Docs, click on View in the top menu, and select Show Ruler. A ruler like this should appear:
Look for the hourglass-shaped triangles and box on the left. Click and hold on the box at the bottom of the hourglass, and slide it it half an inch to the right. Then, click on the top downward-pointing triangle, and slide it half an inch back to the left, where it started.
In Apple Pages and Google Docs, the ruler looks like this:
Look for the blue triangle and bar on the left. Click and hold on the downward-pointing blue triangle, and slide it it half an inch to the right. Then, click on the top little blue bar, and slide it half an inch back to the left, where it started.
A Hack for Formatting Hanging Indentations in Other Programs
If the program or platform you are typing in does not have any option for making hanging indentations, you can always try preparing the hanging indented entries in Word, Pages, or Google Docs, and then copying and pasting them into the uncooperative program. That's what I had to do to get hanging indents to work in this LibGuide!
Annotations
An annotated bibliography is a bibliography that includes a short summary/analysis of the bibliographic entries. The annotation appears after the bibliographic entry and is indented with the same hanging indent:
Shipman, P. (2021). Our oldest companions: The story of the first dogs. Harvard University Press. https://doi.org/10.4159/9780674269941.
Our oldest companions is an introduction to the study of the domestication of dogs written for non-specialists. Shipman does an excellent job summarizing recent scientific studies for the causal reader…
For more annotated bibliography examples, check out Purdue OWL.
