Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowGeneral database of academic journals in the sciences and humanities. Includes full text scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
Funk & Wagnall’s New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new windowA general encyclopedia with more than 250,000 full text short articles.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowNow called Gale eBooks.
Multidisciplinary database of full text encyclopedias and reference sources for research and ready reference. Enables one search that covers all sources. Subjects include arts, sciences, medicine, and the humanities.
Harper's Historical Archive This link opens in a new windowHistorical archives of Harper's Weekly covering the years 1857-1912.
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Statistics & Maps can he helpful as a primary sources.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new windowTrusted source for quantitative facts pertaining to American history.
Illinois Sanborn Maps This link opens in a new windowThese Illinois maps for the time period of 1867 - 1970 were originally created to help insurance companies determine the risks associated with insuring properties.
Is your project about the history of something that might be in another category? Consider checking other subject-specific databases. For example, if you are looking for something related to the economic impacts of geographical location, you might use:
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new windowFull text database featuring over 1,100 scholarly economics, business, and management journals.
For all the databases available to CCC students, go to: Library Databases
