Skip to main content

Selected Resources: Food Production: Home

This guide provides resources for information on issues related to food production to complement the Fall 2016 One Book, One Chicago selection of Barbara Kingsolver's "Animal, Vegetable, Miracle."

Selected Resources: Food Production

             

Librarian

Recommended Podcasts

The following podcasts can be listened to by subscribing (for free) on your computer or phone via the iTunes store, Stitcher, or any other podcast subscription service. The links below will take you to the Website for each podcast where you can learn more about them. These podcasts are not affiliated with HWC or the CCC.

Gravy

The Sporkful

What Doesn't Kill You

Looking for Cook Books?

The library has a small collection of cook books that can be found in the TX642-840 call number range of the stacks.

 

Looking for Local Farmer's Markets?

The City of Chicago maintains information about local farmers markets locations and seasonality on their Chicago Farmers Markets page.

Selected Books from the Harold Washington College Library's Collection

Click on a title to view the full record in the online catalog. The record will often include a summary or description of the book as well as the call number where the book is located.

Note: Books marked with an asterisk (*) are fiction.

Alkon, Alison Hope and Julian Agyeman. Cultivating Food Justice: Race, Class, and Sustainability

Barber, Dan. The Third Plate: Field Notes on the Future of Food

Booth, Michael. Eating Dangerously: Why the Government Can't Keep Your Food Safe

Conway, Gordon. One Billion Hungry: Can We Feed the World?

Elton, Sarah. Consumed: Food for a Finite Planet

Genoways, Ted. The Chain: Farm, Factory, and the Fate of Our Food

Guthman, Julie. Weighing In: Obesity, Food Justice, and the Limits of Capitalism

Higman, B. W. How Food Made History

H.W. Wilson Company. The Business of Food

Kingsolver, Barbara. Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life [Note: This book is currently on RESERVE and only available to be use in the library.]

Lappé, Frances Moore. Diet for a Small Planet

Magdoff, Fred, et al. Hungry For Profit: The Agribusiness Threat to Farmers, Food, and the Environment

Martins, Patrick. The Carnivore's Manifesto: Eating Well, Eating Responsibly, and Eating Meat

Merino, Noel. Agricultural Subsidies

Nestle, Marion. Food Politics: How the Food Industry Influences Nutrition and Health

*Ozeki, Ruth. My Year of Meats

Paarlberg, Robert L. Food Politics: What Everyone Needs to Know

Pollan, Michael. Cooked: A Natural History of Transformation

Pollan, Michael. Food Rules: An Eater's Manual

Pollan, Michael. In Defense of Food: An Eater's Manifesto

Pollan, Michael. The Omnivore's Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals

Robin, Vicki. Blessing the Hands that Feed Us: Lessons From a Ten Mile Diet

Rodale, Maria. Organic Manifesto: How Organic Farming Can Heal Our Planet, Feed the World, and Keep Us Safe

Schlosser, Eric. Fast Food Nation: The Dark Side of the All-American Meal

*Sinclair, Upton. The Jungle

The online catalog allows you to search for books owned by City Colleges of Chicago libraries. You can limit your search to just the HWC Library or search all campuses. In addition, you can search for ebooks in the Ebooks Collection (EBSCO) database.

Selected Databases from the Harold Washington College Library's Collection

Researching topics related to food production? Try these subscription databases that include articles from hundreds of magazines, journals, and newspapers. 

More databases are available from the library's Full List of Databases.

Suggested Search Terms

These are terms that may produce information on topics related to food production. Keep in mind that this is not an exhaustive list. 

  • food justice
  • food consumption
  • nutrition
  • natural foods
  • organic foods 
  • organic farming
  • sustainable agriculture
  • sustainable farming
  • seasonal
  • food safety
  • food security
  • social justice
  • food desert
  • local diet
  • food habits
  • food production
  • genetically engineered foods
  • genetically modified foods
  • agribusiness
  • fast food