Skip to Main Content
Websites
Citation
The below websites provide additional information or Science & Technology:
AlgaeBase is a database of information on algae that includes terrestrial, marine and freshwater organisms.
The BEN Portal provides access to educational resources from BEN Collaborators and is managed by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Over 19,290 reviewed resources covering 77 biological science topics are available.
Courses and videos on chemistry curriculum's from Khan Academy.
An online historical and textual edition of the manuscripts that document Charles Darwin's life's work as a scientist.
Discover magazine publishes the latest news, theories, and developments in the world of science. The publication also covers environmental issues and their relevance to daily life as well features cutting-edge technology and its impact on our future.
EOL brings together trusted information from resources across the world such as museums, learned societies, expert scientists, and others into one database and single easy-to-use portal.
Published by Nature Publishing Group, this free, interactive ebook introduces readers to the core concepts of cell biology. Click the Library tab to view other nature and science eBooks in the collection.
BodyMaps is an interactive visual search tool that allows users to explore the human body in 3-D. With easy-to-use navigation, users can search multiple layers of the human anatomy, view systems and organs down to their smallest parts, and understand in detail how the human body works.
iBioSeminars.org was developed to bring the best biology to people throughout the world for free. iBioSeminars includes over 160 seminars and short talks by the world’s leading scientists. The collection includes 18 talks by Nobel Laureates and 77 talks by members of the National Academy of Sciences.
Nature also provides rapid, authoritative, insightful and arresting news and interpretation of topical and coming trends affecting science, scientists and the wider public.
Science.gov is a gateway to government science information provided by US Government science agencies, including research and development results.
The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) -- is Science's publisher, and a leading voice for the interests of scientists worldwide.
Hub brings you the most credible articles, books, theses, abstracts and patent content you trust, plus curated web results, from publishers, universities and professional organizations around the world.
Scitable is a free science library and personal learning tool created by Nature Publishing Group. Cell biology resources include introductory summaries of key concepts, evidence-based readings on advanced topics, and more.
A public repository of reviewed and annotated images, videos, and animations of cells from a variety of organisms, showcasing cell architecture, intracellular functionalities, and both normal and abnormal processes.
Univ. of Nottingham - Each element has 3-5 minute video combining informal lecture and lab demonstrations.
The Tree of Life Web Project is a collection of information about biodiversity compiled collaboratively by hundreds of expert and amateur contributors. Its goal is to contain a page with pictures, text, and other information for every species and for each group of organisms, living or extinct.
This Web site contains selected USGS educational resources that may be useful to educators at the college level. Most of the material on USGS Web sites is suitable for undergraduate-level use.
The terms and in this glossary are important to practicing biologists and paleontologists in various fields.
Royal Society of Chemistry- Graphical interpretation of elements.
Located on the American Chemical Society website, contains compositions of everyday items.
ZygoteBody offers a zoomable, rotatable model of both the male and female human bodies. The models show several systems (muscle, skeletal, organ, cardiovascular, lymphatic, and nervous systems, and a basic skin layer.)
Open Access Journals
Open access journals are freely available online and do not require a login.
Open-access journals in biology and medicine.
A directory of freely accessible journals and articles that have either been peer-reviewed or vetted by an editorial board. Subject areas covered include biology and life sciences, chemistry, earth and environmental sciences, human sciences, physics and astronomy, technology and engineering.
PLoS Biology, PLoS Computational Biology, PLoS Genetics, PLoS Medicine, and PLoS Pathogens offer open access to recent scientific reports.
Note: free scientific reports
