Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English 102 - Spring 2021 - Visomirski

Selected Resources for Choosing A Topic

The following databases cover a wide range of issues and serve as good starting places if you are deciding on a topic to write about.

CQ Researcher (CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. The reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked.)

Opposing Viewpoints (Covers timely social issues, such as offshore drilling, climate change, health care, and immigration. Includes information from a variety of sources including academic journals, newspapers, magazines, reference books, radio transcripts, and government sources.)

If you would like to see a full list of the library's subscription databases, check out the alphabetized Complete List of Library Databases or this Subject List of Library Database if you prefer to see them grouped by general subject area.

Additional Tips for Choosing a Topic

 

 

  • Choose a topic that is of interest or that is personal to you or someone you know.
  • Browse your local newspaper or a national newspaper (in print or online) to see what kinds of issues are currently in the news.
  • Browse other news source websites for topic ideas. Some examples include: National Public Radio | Time Magazine | Newsweek

 

Selected Resources for Research

If you would like to see a full list of the library's subscription databases, check out the alphabetized Complete List of Library Databases or this Subject List of Library Database if you prefer to see them grouped by general subject area. 

Remote Access to Library Databases

All library databases linked to are subscription databases. This means that to access them from anywhere outside of a City College building, you will need to log in with your CCC username and password. Note: Enter the username without the @student.ccc.edu ending.

The login page will look like this:

The Research Process

The following links will walk you through the process of doing research once you have settled on a topic from starting your research to search for information in the library's database to evaluating information sources.

1. Starting Your Research

2. Developing Keywords

3. Locating Sources

4. Evaluating Sources

5. Citations and Plagiarism