Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Literature

This guide provides resources for information pertaining to literature and literary criticism.

Websites

Writing about Literature (OWL Purdue Guide)

Guide to writing literature and poetry. Also contains resources on literary terms, literary theory and schools of criticism including book reviews

Poetry Archive

Online collection of recordings of poets reading their work. Listen free of charge to the voices of contemporary poets English-language poets and of poets from the past


Literary Resources on the Net

Jack Lynch's Literary Resources Guide

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, The New York Public Library

"The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture is a national research library devoted to collecting, preserving and providing access to resources documenting the experiences of peoples of African descent throughout the world." In addition to maintaining the physical collection, the Schomburg Center also has extensive digital collections and online texts. 

African-American Newspapers and Periodicals, the Wisconsin Historical Society Library

This site includes digitized images of Freedom's Journal, the first newspaper to be owned and operated by African-Americans. Freedom's Journal was published weekly in New York City, from March 1827 through March 1829. All 103 issues have been digitized.

African American Perspectives: The Daniel A. P. Murray Pamphlet Collection (Library of Congress)

"In 1899, Librarian of Congress Herbert Putnam asked Library of Congress staff member Daniel A. P. Murray 'to secure a copy of every book and pamphlet in existence, by a Negro Author, to be used in connection with the Exhibit of Negro Authorship at the Paris Exposition of 1900, and later placed in the Library of Congress.'" Now part of the Library of Congress's American Memory project, the Daniel A. P. Murray Pamphlet Collection spans from the early 19th through the early 20th centuries.

African American Sheet Music

This online selection of 1,305 sheet music pieces from Brown University's John Hay Library, dates from 1850-1920. The collection includes songs from the antebellum black face minstrelsy in the 1850s and from the abolitionist movement. Some items relate to the novel Uncle Tom's Cabin, others relate to African-American soldiers during the Civil War, and to the newly emancipated slaves. Post-Civil War music relates to Reconstruction, urbanization, and the northern migration of African Americans.

Chicago Public Library: The Vivian G. Harsh Research Collection of Afro-American History and Literature

The Vivian G. Harsh Research Collection of Afro-American History and Literature is located in the Chicago Public Library system's Carter G. Woodson Regional Library. Vivian Harsh, the Chicago Public Library's first African American librarian, began building the collection in 1932 when she became head of the George Cleveland Hall branch. The collection includes books, periodicals, microfilm, and manuscripts; its focus is primarily on African American literature and history in Illinois.

Voice of the Shuttle: Minority Literatures: African American

The "Voice of the Shuttle: Web Page for Humanities Research" was created by Alan Liu of the University of California, Santa Barbara. The project began in 1994 as an introduction to the Web for humanists at the University of California, Santa Barbara. Users will find an extensive list of links to Web resources in African-American Literature.

Columbia

Journal of Literature and Art run by  students. Committed to widening readership beyond established audience

Eureka Literary Magazine 

List of journals and other literary information

Fifth Wednesday Journal

Independent biannual literary magazine that features fiction, poetry, essays, photography, interviews and reviews

Karamu

Eastern Illinois University literary journal literary works

Ninth Letter

University of Illinois literary journal

Poetry Foundation

Published by  an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry to celebrate the best poetry and to present to the largest possible audience

Poetry East

Independent poetry publisher and journal affiliated with DePaul University

TriQuarterly Magazine

Features fiction, poetry, literary essays and graphic art

University of Illinois Press

Publishes scholarly texts , poetry, fiction and non-fiction

Wright American Fiction 

Collection of 19th century American fiction as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875.