Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Government

This guide provides resources for information pertaining to federal, state and local governments.

Federal Government

White House

The official website for the White House and President Barack Obama, the 44th president of the United States.

USA.gov

The official web portal for the U.S government. Allows users to search for information across all federal agencies.

Thomas.gov

Provides legislative information such as bill tracking, laws, presidential nominations, and full text committee reports.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications

Lists and describes federal publications (primarily 1976- ) and provides direct links to those that are available online. Search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keyword. (See next tab for pre-1976 documents.)

FDsyc (formally GPO Access)

Access to official Federal Government publications. Allows users to search and download documents and publications.

OpenCongress

Designed to help citizens keep track of what's really happening in Congress. Provides information about elected officials, bills, roll call votes, and issues.

State of Illinois

State of Illinois

Provides comprehension information about about the state and state government. 

Hint: Use the site map to find content you are searching for.


Illinois General Assembly

This site includes:

Illinois Administrative Code

Illinois Register

Illinois Complied Statues

Find-it Illinois!

Search 226 State of Illinois websites, and search digital archives from Illinois public libraries

Illinois Constitution

Full-text of the Illinois Constitution of 1970.

Illinois Department of Revenue: Tax Forms/Publications

Find tax forms for Illinois.

Local Government

Office of the Mayor 

The official website of Mayor Lorie Lightfoot, the 56th mayor of the City of Chicago.

City Council

Watch live city council meetings, view the meeting agenda,

Find your Alderman (by ward or name)

Find your ward (by street address)

"The City of Chicago is divided into fifty legislative districts or wards. Each district is represented by an alderman who is elected by their constituency to serve a four year term. In addition to representing the interests of their ward residents, together the fifty aldermen comprise the Chicago City Council, which serves as the legislative branch of government of the City of Chicago."  (Cityofchicago.org)