Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Criminal Justice Resources

This guide provides resources for information pertaining criminal justice or government.

Websites

How to Save Money When Building Your New Website

Citation: https://www.digitalconnectmag.com/how-to-save-money-when-building-your-new-website/ 

 

The below websites provide additional information on Criminal Justice for the U.S. State & City/County.

 

UNITED STATES:

 

Bureau of Justice Statistics

Statistics on U.S crime, offenders, and the justice system. Includes links to other government and international sources, criminal justice data sets and abstracts of data sets.

Crime in the United States: Uniform Crime Reports

Uniform Crime Reports, administered by the FBI, "is a nationwide, cooperative statistical effort of 16,000 city, county, and state law enforcement agencies" reporting on crime of which they are aware. Also included are Hate Crime Statistics, Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted, National Incident-Based Reporting System, Terrorism in the U.S. and other reports.

Federal Bureau of Investigation

The official website for the FBI. Includes up-to-date listings of most wanted fugitives and terrorists, statistics, reports, and publications produced by the FBI.

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data

Provides research data and statistics available from the Bureau of Justice Statistics and the National Institute of Justice.

National Institute of Justice

The official research, development, and evaluation agency of the U.S Department of Justice. Covers a wide range of topics that fall under the following nine categories: Corrections, Courts, Crime and Prevention, Drugs and Crime, Forensics, Law Enforcement, Technology and Tools, Tribal Crime and Justice, and Victims and Victimization. 

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics

Published annually since 1973. Includes over 600 tables of data on criminal justice and related topics collected from over 100 governmental and private agencies.


ILLINOIS:

 

Illinois Laws & Constitution

This official website for the State of Illinois provides information on the following: 

Guide to Law Online-Illinois

This website provided by the Library of Congress, contains a selection of Illinois legal, judicial, and governmental sources.

Illinois Criminal Justice Information Authority (ICJLA) 

The mission of  ICJLA is to improve the administration of criminal justice in Illinois. ICJLA's website serves as a useful tool for Illinois crime statistics, criminal justice research of state and national scope

Illinois Department of Corrections  

The official website for the Illinois Department of Corrections. Includes up-to-date listings of most wanted fugitives and links to Illinois state registries for sex offenders, child murders and violence against youth, etc.


CHICAGO:

 

Chicago Crime Commission

The Chicago Crime Commission is a non profit organization dedicated to fighting crime in Chicago. The organization also works toward improving the criminal justice system in Chicago by creating and supporting solutions to crime.

Chicago Police Department
Provides general info about the Chicago Police Department and the Chicago Alternative Policing Strategy. The site also provides information on Chicago crime and murder statistics. You can also view Chicago's most wanted list.

Cook County Sheriff's Office
The official website of Cook County Sheriff, Thomas J. Dart. Includes suburban Cook County crime blotter, most wanted profiles, cold cases, sex offenders, and press releases. 

10 Types of Plagiarism Video

Learn key ways to avoid plagiarism after reviewing these 10 types.  Understand how to paraphrase a text, how to document or cite a source and how to research so the paper contains original content. Original source: Turnitin.com: Published on Nov 16, 2012