Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Resource Guide

This guide provides resources for information pertaining to music and music history.

Websites

Music History Survey

Credit Image: https://hochstein.org/Music/Music-Theory-History/Music-History-Survey 

The below websites provide additional information for Music History:

 

National Jukebox (Library of Congress)

Includes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. All songs can be listened to online, but can not be downloaded.

Performing Arts Databases

The website includes a description of the various collections and links to digitized resources in Music, Theater, Dance & Film.

NPR Music

Includes concerts, interviews, news, profiles, reviews, and studio sessions covering various genres of music.

All about Jazz

Provides reviews on new book and CD releases, musician interviews, concert information, etc.  

African American Band Music & Recordings, 1883-1923 
Includes recordings of bands or small orchestras of popular songs written by African Americans, short biographies of composers and performers during this time period.

Open Access Journals

Open access journals are freely available online and do not require a login.

BioMed Central 

Open-access journals in biology and medicine.

Directory of Open Access Journals 

A directory of freely accessible journals and articles that have either been peer-reviewed or vetted by an editorial board. Subject areas covered include biology and life sciences, chemistry, earth and environmental sciences, human sciences, physics and astronomy, technology and engineering.

Public Library of Science (PLoS) 

PLoS Biology, PLoS Computational Biology, PLoS Genetics, PLoS Medicine, and PLoS Pathogens offer open access to recent scientific reports.
Note: free scientific reports