Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Daley College Virtual Library Services: Library Databases

Database List

Using Subscription Databases

Our database subscriptions allow for access to copyrighted content including academic journals, eBooks, magazines, newspapers, etc. Not every database can be used to answer every research question.

  • On campus we are logged in automatically. Off-campus, you should log in with your CCC credentials.
  • Use keywords (e.g. Shakespeare AND criticism; Macbeth AND guilt; Hamlet AND Ophelia AND madness) in combination to get the most relevant results. Generally, the databases will look in the title, abstract, and subject terms (these are tags that describe the topics discussed) to provide results. Avoid words like what, in, the, how, etc.
  • Many databases provide full-text access as well as abstract-only access. Always click full-text if given the option!
  • Change the date range to get more recent results.

Best Bets

E-Books

Daley-Specific Database

Boolean Logic, Wildcards, & Truncation

Boolean Operators
  • Put quotation marks around your search terms to find an exact phrase

  • Refine or widen your search results with “AND,” “OR,” “NOT.

 

Wildcards
  • Many databases allow you to use a ? in place of a letter

 

Truncation
  • Use an asterisk to search for words where more than one letter might differ