Skip to Main Content

HWC Library Newsletter: April 2021: Home

Harold Washington College Library Newsletter * April 2021

Greetings from the Harold Washington College Library

Happy April and Happy National Library Week! While we haven't been able to enjoy our physical space and resources on the fifth floor of the college, and acknowledge the challenges and inconvenience this poses for all of us, librarians and the library's online resources continue to be available to you while we are in this period of remote learning. Need help finding resources for an assignment? Not sure if something is a primary source? Wondering if your MLA style citation is correct? Looking for something to read for fun? Check in with a librarian! You can do this through our library chat feature where librarians are available from 8AM until 10PM. In this month's newsletter we've featured online resources related to National Poetry Month, primary sources, and Covid-19 research.

From the Archives

Photo graph of three students holding Vietnams War protest signs from the 1968 Loop College Yearbook.

Loop College students hold up posters for a Vietnam War protest on April 27, 1968. This photograph is from the 1968 Loop College yearbook. For primary sources related to the Vietnam War, check out ProQuest's Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975) and Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849-1990).

Chat Reference Hours

Librarians are available via chat Monday through Sunday from 8 am to 10 pm. The chat box feature will open on the lower right corner of any library page including the main CCC Libraries information page.

 

Screen capture of the CCC Libraries Homepage with links to the individual campus libraries.

 

On the HWC Library homepage, you can also chat with a librarian by clicking on the "Chat With A Librarian" button.

 

Screen capture of the HWC Library's homepage.

Featured Poetry eBooks for National Poetry Month

Cover of The World Will Follow Joy by Alice Walker
Image of the cover of Catalog of Unabashed Gratitude
Cover of Peluda
Cover of All Its Charms
Cover of The Tradition by Jericho Brown
Cover of Thousand Star Hotel
Cover of Oceanic

Library Request Forms

Schedule Library Instruction (for HWC faculty)

Schedule A Research Consultation (for all HWC community)

Suggest A Purchase (for all HWC community)

Featured Database

Image of the search page of the Coronavirus Research Database.

 

Coronavirus Research Database is part of the library's collection of ProQuest Databases. Remember that to access remotely, you will need to log in with your CCC username (do not include the @student.ccc.edu part) and password.

Featured Database

Writer's Reference Center is part of the Library's Online Databases. Remember that to access remotely, you will need to log in with your CCC username (do not include the @student.ccc.edu part) and password.

Featured eBooks By and About Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders

Cover of Asian American Media Activism
Book cover of Minor Feelings
Cover of The Two Faces of Exclusion
Cover of We Are Not Free
Cover of On Earth We Are Briefly Gorgeous
Cover of Racial Ambiguity

Returning Library Books

Did you know that you can return any HWC Library book checked out this semester or in a previous semester and no late fine will be charged? Just drop them in the library book return bin located next to the security desk on the first floor of the College.

Contact Us

 Contact Us | 312-553-5760 | 30 E. Lake Street, 5th Floor | Chicago, IL 60601