LibGuides: English 101 Dockery.SS: Home

Welcome to the Library!

Hello Everyone,

This guide brings together resources to help you complete your next Writing Prompt assignment. If you have questions about library resources while you are working on this assignment, feel free to contact me. You can also chat with a librarian by using the chat box on this page or in the library catalog and databases.

Thanks,
Sara Stigberg, Librarian / Truman College Library

Powerpoint Presentation Spring 2022

Starting Your Research

The Library Catalog is a great place to start your research. Search for both books and digital resources (like articles) here. You will be prompted to login with your CCC username and password.

Research databases to get you started

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
General database of academic journals in the sciences and humanities. Includes full text scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Now called Gale eBooks.
Multidisciplinary database of full text encyclopedias and reference sources for research and ready reference. Enables one search that covers all sources. Subjects include arts, sciences, medicine, and the humanities.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers hottest social issues, such as offshore drilling, climate change, health care, and immigration. Has full text, editor selected articles. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of information for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

All Library Databases

MLA Resources

MLA Style: Website

MLA Formatting

General Formatting: From Purdue OWL

General information about formatting papers according to MLA guidelines. It also provides a sample MLA formatted cover page.

Formatting Guidelines: From the MLA Style Center

Formatting assistance directly from the MLA Style Center. This page includes information on margins, text formatting, etc.

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
ISBN: 9781603292627
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.

English 101 Dockery.SS

Ask a Librarian Chat

Contact the Library

Librarian

Welcome to the Library!

Starting Your Research

Research databases to get you started

MLA Resources