Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Basic Search & Help Tools
Daley Library Homepage & Search
A good place to start your search!
LibChat: Ask a Librarian
Have a question about finding books or articles or conducting research? You can chat live with a CCC Librarian daily between 10am-10pm, or, outside of those hours, send a message to be answered the next business day.
Daley College's LibGuide for the general subject area of Philosophy.
The preferred citation styles for this course are APA (American Psychological Association) and MLA (Modern Language Association). Stay consistent and pick one or the other! The resources below can help you learn how to format your citations in either format.
Recommended Online Databases on Current Events and Social and Political Issues
ACADEMIC JOURNAL DATABASES
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
General database of academic journals in the sciences and humanities. Includes full text scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
NEWSPAPERS, NEWS SITES, & MAGAZINES
Chicago Defender (1909-2010) This link opens in a new window
Historical collection of Chicago's premier African-American newspaper.
Chicago Tribune (1849-1998) This link opens in a new window
Historical collection from Chicago Tribune covering the years 1849-1998.
Chicago Tribune (1985-current) This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage from today's news and historical coverage back to 1985.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
This database presents multi-ethnic and multi-cultural points of view from newspapers, magazines, and journals.
Flipster This link opens in a new window
Flipster is a next-generation digital magazine distribution service which lets users access a wide range of magazines. Accessible via a desktop web browser or Apple, Android, and Kindle Fire apps, with which Flipster users can download magazines to read offline, anytime, anywhere. Includes news and science magazines like National Geographic, Time, Mother Jones, Science News, The New Yorker, and more.
Global Newsstream (Formerly Gannett Newsstand) This link opens in a new window
A broad collection of newspapers covering local and regional news. (Formerly Gannett Newsstand.)
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Available through EBSCOHost, this database with cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers with selective full text of more than 330 regional US newspapers.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers hottest social issues, such as offshore drilling, climate change, health care, and immigration. Has full text, editor selected articles. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of information for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Proquest Databases and Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A list of ProQuest databases subscribed to by CCC.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1909 - 2010) This link opens in a new window
Historical Chicago Defender content covering 1909-2010.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1998) This link opens in a new window
Historical Chicago Tribune content covering 1849-1998.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Full-text database covering regional business news for the United States and Canada.
Scientific American (via Academic Search Complete) This link opens in a new window
Scientific American is the world's premier magazine of scientific discovery and technological innovation for the general public. Full access limited to most recent four years.
Sharpen your search with Boolean Operators!
You can get more targeted search results in your computer searches by using the three Boolean operators, AND, OR, and NOT.
Infographic courtesy Slippery Rock University, https://sru.libguides.com/english/librarybasics/booleanoperators