LibGuides: SOC203: Sociology of Marriage and Family: Searches, Databases, & Citations

Basic Search & Help Tools

Daley Library Homepage & Search
A good place to start your search!
LibChat: Ask a Librarian
Have a question about finding books or articles or conducting research? You can chat live with a CCC Librarian daily between 10am-10pm, or, outside of those hours, send a message to be answered the next business day.

Recommended Online Databases

ACADEMIC JOURNAL DATABASES

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
General database of academic journals in the sciences and humanities. Includes full text scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Oxford Academic This link opens in a new window
Until June 30, 2024, CCC via its Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI) membership will have access to titles in six subject areas: Biology, History, Law, Music, Political Science, and Religion with online publication dates of 2019–March 2024.

STATISTICS AND GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS DATABASES

govinfo.gov
The go-to first stop for documents, resources, data, and information published by the US federal government.
United States Census Bureau
The Census Bureau offers free, public access to data collected on the population and demographics of the population of the US.

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Trusted source for quantitative facts pertaining to American history.
US Government Publications This link opens in a new window
Historical and current United States government publications.

NEWSPAPERS, NEWS SITES, & MAGAZINES

Chicago Defender (1909-2010) This link opens in a new window
Historical collection of Chicago's premier African-American newspaper.
Chicago Tribune (1849-1998) This link opens in a new window
Historical collection from Chicago Tribune covering the years 1849-1998.
Chicago Tribune (1985-current) This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage from today's news and historical coverage back to 1985.
Ethnic NewsWatch‎ This link opens in a new window
This database presents multi-ethnic and multi-cultural points of view from newspapers, magazines, and journals.
Global Newsstream (Formerly Gannett Newsstand) This link opens in a new window
A broad collection of newspapers covering local and regional news. (Formerly Gannett Newsstand.)
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Available through EBSCOHost, this database with cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers with selective full text of more than 330 regional US newspapers.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers hottest social issues, such as offshore drilling, climate change, health care, and immigration. Has full text, editor selected articles. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of information for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Proquest Databases and Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A list of ProQuest databases subscribed to by CCC.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender‎ (1909 - 2010) This link opens in a new window
Historical Chicago Defender content covering 1909-2010.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune‎ (1849 - 1998) This link opens in a new window
Historical Chicago Tribune content covering 1849-1998.

Sharpen your search with Boolean Operators!

You can get more targeted search results in your computer searches by using the three Boolean operators, AND, OR, and NOT.

Infographic courtesy Slippery Rock University, https://sru.libguides.com/english/librarybasics/booleanoperators

Citations

The preferred citation style for this course are APA (American Psychological Association). The resources below can help you learn how to format your citations in either format.

Library Department Chair

Valerie Neylon

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Daley Library:
Room 2118
AVI Library:
Room 2220

773-838-7926