What is the largest classroom in the building? The HWC Library, of course! Located on the 5th floor, the Library offers services and resources for all of the HWC community including research assistance, access to course textbooks, books for research or for leisure reading, a quiet space to study, curriculum support, and much more. We are located on the 5th floor of the College. Our Fall 2023 hours of operation are Monday - Thursday from 8AM to 8PM and Friday from 8AM to 4PM. Whether remote or in person, we wish you a successful and fulfilling semester and look forward to seeing you.
This year's faculty book club selection. Small Teaching: Everyday Lessons from the Science of Learning by James M. Lang, is available as an ebook through the CCC Libraries. The HWC Library will also have print copies available for check out in September. Faculty librarians Paul Rizik and Todd Heldt presented a lunchtime session on LibreTexts, an OER resource, during HW's Faculty Development Week. If you missed the session, you can still view the presentation and the slides on the C.A.S.T. Brightspace.
Visit the library to check out our new art which includes prints, digital art, and cast metal from the College's collection as well as photographs and posters (Celebrate People's History series) from the Library's collection. The HWC Library wishes to thank Professor Stephanie Burke in the Art Department for facilitating the project and Anna Pontius, preparator and collections manager in the Art Department, for assisting with the selection and for the installation of our new art.
Visit the library to check out our new art which includes prints, digital art, and cast metal from the College's collection as well as photographs and posters (Celebrate People's History series) from the Library's collection. The HWC Library wishes to thank Professor Stephanie Burke in the Art Department for facilitating the project and Anna Pontius, preparator and collections manager in the Art Department, for assisting with the selection and for the installation of our new art.
Visit the library to check out our new art which includes prints, digital art, and cast metal from the College's collection as well as photographs and posters (Celebrate People's History series) from the Library's collection. The HWC Library wishes to thank Professor Stephanie Burke in the Art Department for facilitating the project and Anna Pontius, preparator and collections manager in the Art Department, for assisting with the selection and for the installation of our new art.
Visit the library to check out our new art which includes prints, digital art, and cast metal from the College's collection as well as photographs and posters (Celebrate People's History series) from the Library's collection. The HWC Library wishes to thank Professor Stephanie Burke in the Art Department for facilitating the project and Anna Pontius, preparator and collections manager in the Art Department, for assisting with the selection and for the installation of our new art.
Visit the library to check out our new art which includes prints, digital art, and cast metal from the College's collection as well as photographs and posters (Celebrate People's History series) from the Library's collection. The HWC Library wishes to thank Professor Stephanie Burke in the Art Department for facilitating the project and Anna Pontius, preparator and collections manager in the Art Department, for assisting with the selection and for the installation of our new art.
Visit the library to check out our new art which includes prints, digital art, and cast metal from the College's collection as well as photographs and posters (Celebrate People's History series) from the Library's collection. The HWC Library wishes to thank Professor Stephanie Burke in the Art Department for facilitating the project and Anna Pontius, preparator and collections manager in the Art Department, for assisting with the selection and for the installation of our new art.
Visit the library to check out our new art which includes prints, digital art, and cast metal from the College's collection as well as photographs and posters (Celebrate People's History series) from the Library's collection. The HWC Library wishes to thank Professor Stephanie Burke in the Art Department for facilitating the project and Anna Pontius, preparator and collections manager in the Art Department, for assisting with the selection and for the installation of our new art.
Visit the library to check out our new art which includes prints, digital art, and cast metal from the College's collection as well as photographs and posters (Celebrate People's History series) from the Library's collection. The HWC Library wishes to thank Professor Stephanie Burke in the Art Department for facilitating the project and Anna Pontius, preparator and collections manager in the Art Department, for assisting with the selection and for the installation of our new art.
Visit the library to check out our new art which includes prints, digital art, and cast metal from the College's collection as well as photographs and posters (Celebrate People's History series) from the Library's collection. The HWC Library wishes to thank Professor Stephanie Burke in the Art Department for facilitating the project and Anna Pontius, preparator and collections manager in the Art Department, for assisting with the selection and for the installation of our new art.
Visit the library to check out our new art which includes prints, digital art, and cast metal from the College's collection as well as photographs and posters (Celebrate People's History series) from the Library's collection. The HWC Library wishes to thank Professor Stephanie Burke in the Art Department for facilitating the project and Anna Pontius, preparator and collections manager in the Art Department, for assisting with the selection and for the installation of our new art.
Visit the library to check out our new art which includes prints, digital art, and cast metal from the College's collection as well as photographs and posters (Celebrate People's History series) from the Library's collection. The HWC Library wishes to thank Professor Stephanie Burke in the Art Department for facilitating the project and Anna Pontius, preparator and collections manager in the Art Department, for assisting with the selection and for the installation of our new art.
Visit the library to check out our new art which includes prints, digital art, and cast metal from the College's collection as well as photographs and posters (Celebrate People's History series) from the Library's collection. The HWC Library wishes to thank Professor Stephanie Burke in the Art Department for facilitating the project and Anna Pontius, preparator and collections manager in the Art Department, for assisting with the selection and for the installation of our new art.
Visit the library to check out our new art which includes prints, digital art, and cast metal from the College's collection as well as photographs and posters (Celebrate People's History series) from the Library's collection. The HWC Library wishes to thank Professor Stephanie Burke in the Art Department for facilitating the project and Anna Pontius, preparator and collections manager in the Art Department, for assisting with the selection and for the installation of our new art.
Look for the pop-up library on the first floor next to the escalators from 10:00AM to 1:00PM on the following dates:
Thursday, 8/31 Wednesday, 10/25
Textbook didn't arrive in time for the first day of class? Not able to purchase a copy of a textbook you need this semester? Did you know that the HWC Library has a collection of current textbooks (also known as our Course Reserves)? Stop by to find out if the Library has what you are looking for. While items in Course Reserve cannot be taken out of the library, we have copiers and scanners available if you need specific chapters in class or at home. Please keep in mind that there may be instances in which the Library does not have a textbook being used in the current semester. Visit us for more information.
No Hands: The Rise and Fall of the Schwinn Bicycle Company: an American institution by Judith Crown & Glenn Coleman, 1996. In this book, authors Judith Crown & Glenn Coleman chronicle Chicago's own Schwinn Bicycle Company, once the largest bicycle manufacturer in the world, from its founding in the 19th century, to its heyday in the years after World War II, to its eventual bankruptcy and sale in the 1990’s. While the story revolves around one company in Chicago, it serves as a microcosm for the decline of American manufacturing and the ways in which dynamic and innovative organizations can fall prey to stagnation and infighting. -- Paul Rizik, Librarian
Need a study break? Looking for a movie or documentary to use in your research? Did you know that the CCC Libraries subscribe to three video streaming databases whose contents are available for free to current students, staff and faculty? Kanopy, Swank, and AVON can be accessed on campus or from anywhere else with your current CCC credentials (username and password used for all CCC accounts).
Did you know that some movie and music streaming services often offer student discounts? Read about current offers in this article from Rolling Stone that provides details for services including Hulu and Amazon Prime. Please be aware that the HWC Library is not affiliated with any of the services mentioned on the Rolling Stone website. As with all information, read carefully and think critically.
Contact Us | 312-553-5760 | 30 E. Lake Street, 5th Floor | Chicago, IL 60601
