HWC Library Newsletter: September 2023: Home

The Library's website has a new look! Visit our homepage to access online resources and learn more about what the HWC Library can offer.

Librarians are available via chat during the fall semester. Chat hours are: Monday - Friday: 8:00 am-10 pm and Saturday - Sunday: 10 am-10 pm. The chat box feature will open on the lower right corner of any library page including the main CCC Libraries information page.

On the HWC Library homepage, you can also chat with a librarian by clicking on the blue "Chat With A Librarian" button on the left side of the page.

This year's faculty book club selection. Small Teaching: Everyday Lessons from the Science of Learning by James M. Lang, is available as an ebook through the CCC Libraries. The HWC Library will also have print copies available for check out in September. 

"Small Teaching fills the gap in higher education literature between the primary research in cognitive theory and the classroom environment. In this book, James Lang presents a strategy for improving student learning with a series of small but powerful changes that make a big difference―many of which can be put into practice in a single class period. These are simple interventions that can be integrated into pre-existing techniques, along with clear descriptions of how to do so. Inside, you'll find brief classroom or online learning activities, one-time interventions, and small modifications in course design or student communication. These small tweaks will bring your classroom into alignment with the latest evidence in cognitive research." (Description from the Ebsco Ebook database). 

If you're looking for feature films and documentaries by and about Latin@s, the CCC Libraries subscribe to three video streaming databases whose contents are available for free to current students, staff and faculty. Kanopy, Swank, and AVON can be accessed on campus or from anywhere else with your current CCC credentials (username and password used for all CCC accounts). Kanopy currently offers a collection of films celebrating Hispanic Heritage Month.

Look for the pop-up library on the first floor from 10:00AM to 1:00PM on the following dates:

Wednesday, 9/20     

Wednesday, 10/4                       

Tuesday, 10/24 (Midterm Mixer in Room 103)   

Wednesday, 11/15

Thursday, 12/7

Textbook didn't arrive in time for the first day of class? Not able to purchase a copy of a textbook you need this semester? Did you know that the HWC Library has a collection of current textbooks (also known as our Course Reserves)?  Stop by to find out if the Library has what you are looking for. While items in Course Reserve cannot be taken out of the library, we have copiers and scanners available if you need specific chapters in class or at home. Please keep in mind that there may be instances in which the Library does not have a textbook being used in the current semester. Visit us for more information. 

Schedule Library Instruction (for HWC faculty)

Schedule a Research Consultation (for all HWC community)

Suggest a Purchase (for all HWC community)

Request an Interlibrary Loan (for all HWC community)

Request a Video for Online Viewing (for HWC faculty)

Faculty Publications (for HWC faculty)

September is Library Card Sign-Up Month! Did you know that...

*Your CCC ID serves as your library card?

*Your CCC ID gives you access to thousands of books including textbooks and novels?

*You can check out books with your CCC ID at any CCC campus library?

* You can check out up to 25 books at one time?

For more information about checking out books from the HWC Library (or any CCC library), take a look at our FAQs.

The Latino American Experience is a database dedicated to the history and culture of Latinx people. Included in the contents of the database is the Bracero Program Collection, a collection of primary and secondary sources provides an in-depth look at the Bracero Program and the experiences of the workers who participated in it. The Latino American Experience is part of the Library's collection of online databases. Remember that remote access to our online databases requires you to log in with your CCC username (do not include the @student.ccc.edu part) and password.

Harold Washington College is an HSI, a Hispanic-Serving Institution. This means that at least 25% of its full-time equivalent student enrollment is Hispanic / Latin@.

Stop by the library to submit your guess as to what percentage of Fall 2023 semester students at HWC identify as Hispanic / Latin@. The entry with the closest guess will win a prize!

Deadline to enter is Monday, September 25.

Connect with us on Instagram @hwc_library for news and information about resources, events, and more at the HWC Library.

Take a look at our previous newsletters for any information you might have missed.