Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using Reference Resources
What is a Reference Resources? Reference Resources are a good starting point for conducting research because they provide brief and factual information. They are considered reliable sources because their authors are experts in their respective disciplines. You can find general and subject-specific Reference Resources available in print and electronic formats.
What are they useful for?
- To look for facts, statistics, definitions, etc.
- To get background information or an overview of an issue.
What are some examples? Dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, etc.
There are general reference resources and subject-focused resources. So if you are looking for a specific subject, add the topic to the search string. See the examples below.
Encyclopedia AND Addiction
Encyclopedia AND Mental Illness
Encyclopedia AND Health
Dictionary AND Medical Terms
Recommended Print Reference Resources
Drug and Alcohol Studies by
Call Number: HN59.2 .E343 2011
Publication Date: 2013-12-26
The field of drug and alcohol studies has expanded rapidly in recent years, with estimates of at least a doubling in the number of publications in the past decades. A feature of this wide and multidisciplinary field is the tendency of sub-groups of scholars to operate within their disciplinary silos, paying only token attention to the contributions of others. There are also, naturally, significant differences in approaches of different countries, reflecting different policy frameworks and cultural perspectives. When faced with these challenges to comprehensive study, a publication such as this new six-volume collection - which aims to bring together the various disparate strands of the topic, including key articles written by scholars from across the globe, disciplines and decades - truly proves itself to be a unique and valuable resource for specialist students and researchers in the field. Volume One: Historical and Cultural studies Volume Two: Theoretical Perspectives Volume Three: Methods and Measurements Volume Four: Policy Approaches Volume Five: Interventions Volume Six: Current Trends, Continuing Issues and New Challenges
APA Addiction Syndrome Handbook by
Call Number: AG6 .N495 2011
Publication Date: 2012-05-15
This two-volume handbook provides a comprehensive review of addiction. Volume 1 has an introduction and three sections focusing on the background and history of addiction, the distal and proximal influences on addiction, and the expressions of addiction;
Recommended Online Reference Resouces
Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health by
Publication Date: 2012-05-25
"The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health presents authoritative and comprehensive information on 500 topics in mental health, including diseases and disorders, drugs, alternative treatments, psychiatric assessments, and related concepts. Written in language accessible to adult laypersons, it aims to fill the gap between basic consumer resources and highly technical professional materials such as the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM). The new edition reflects suggested additions and changes to the forthcoming DSM-5 and includes over 65 new entries, photos of common medications, and age- and gender-specific topics such as juvenile bipolar disorder, late-life depression, and conditions specific to men and women. "
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior by
Publication Date: 2000-12-01
Numerous changes have occurred since the first edition of this Encyclopedia (which was a Choice Outstanding Reference) published in 1995. These changes include the decrease of crack cocaine use and resurgence of heroin use; changes in laws dealing with drug use -- on both the state and national levels; and new discoveries of how drugs work and what makes them addictive. More than 700 articles intended for the student and layperson cover the social, medical and political issues related to drugs and alcohol, as well as types of addiction.
Health and Wellness by
Publication Date: 2012-10-12
Features more than 830 entries covering key global historical events from a regional perspective. Covering ancient civilizations to the present, important events in history are explored with an emphasis on their significance to overall world history. Volumes are chronologically arranged by region: Africa, Asia and Oceania, Central and South America, Europe, Middle East, and North America.
Publication Date: 2014-05-12
Is denying a patient medical care ever justified? Should patents on living organisms be permitted? When does "consciousness" begin in human being? Are there circumstances under which people should be sterilized? Questions such as these and others are the basis of assignments, debate topics, and life and death decisions people face everyday. They are aspects of a broad and dynamic field called Bioethics. Bioethics is the where ethics--right and wrong--intersect with biology, medicine, biotechnology, politics, law, religion and philosophy. It encompasses issues of profound importance to students, faculty and laypersons. Yet balanced, objective information--free from business, political or religious agendas--is hard to come by. The encyclopedia used a basic conceptual framework involving 3 clear steps to explore, understand, and address key issues and questions; these are * Identifying applicable moral principles, ideals, or standards; * Assessing current practice or behavior in light of principles; * And suggesting policies or procedures to bring practice into line with principles. With its initial publication in 1978, Bioethics became the first reference to focus solely on a then burgeoning field, in effect helping to define the discipline. Both the first and second (1995) editions won the Dartmouth Medal, and the set remains the standard reference on bioethics for teachers, students, and those in related fields of health care, philosophy, environmentalism, law, and religious studies. The fourth edition offers hundreds of revisions or addenda to entries from previous editions as well as over 100 new or rewritten entries on topics such as key cases in bioethics, the human biome, genetically modified foods, emergency preparedness and response, social justice, sustainability, chemical warfare and torture, among many others. Revised articles will explain the events as well as legislation changes of the past decade. The work is also being expanded to include views of nations and cultures other than the United States on such issues as abortion, medical triage, social responsibility, access to health care, stem cell research, etc. *In nearly 500 entries averaging 4000 words, key concepts and issues in bioethics are explained. *Many subjects--such as abortion, animal rights, genetic testing--are discussed in terms of various perspectives: religious, ethical, policy/law, etc. *Entries will have bibliographies and cross references to other articles; also included will be tables/charts/graphs, a topical outline, an annotated bibliography, an annotated list of legal cases, an annotated filmography, and an index.