Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Start your research here!
Library of Congress call numbers
Use these calls numbers to browse books on the shelves in the general collection and the reference collection.
||Call Number Range
||TK7000 to TK8000
|Computer science (programming languages)
||QA75.5 to QA76.95
||T58 to T59
|Internet and web technologies
||TK5105.88 to TK5105.887
|Telecommunications and Networking
||TK5101 to TK6270
Find books in the Library
Search Encore for additional titles.
Network Programmability and Automation by Like sysadmins before them, network engineers are finding that they cannot do their work manually anymore. As the field faces new protocols, technologies, delivery models, and a pressing need for businesses to be more agile and flexible, network automation is becoming essential. This practical guide shows network engineers how to use a range of technologies and tools--including Linux, Python, JSON, and XML--to automate their systems through code. Network programming and automation will help you simplify tasks involved in configuring, managing, and operating network equipment, topologies, services, and connectivity. Through the course of the book, you'll learn the basic skills and tools you need to make this critical transition. This book covers: Python programming basics: data types, conditionals, loops, functions, classes, and modules Linux fundamentals to provide the foundation you need on your network automation journey Data formats and models: JSON, XML, YAML, and YANG for networking Jinja templating and its applicability for creating network device configurations The role of application programming interfaces (APIs) in network automation Source control with Git to manage code changes during the automation process How Ansible, Salt, and StackStorm open source automation tools can be used to automate network devices Key tools and technologies required for a Continuous Integration (CI) pipeline in network operations
Call Number: TK5105.548 .E34 2018
Publication Date: 2018-03-03
Bits to Bitcoin by An accessible guide to our digital infrastructure, explaining the basics of operating systems, networks, security, and other topics for the general reader.Most of us feel at home in front of a computer; we own smartphones, tablets, and laptops; we look things up online and check social media to see what our friends are doing. But we may be a bit fuzzy about how any of this really works. In Bits to Bitcoin, Mark Stuart Day offers an accessible guide to our digital infrastructure, explaining the basics of operating systems, networks, security, and related topics for the general reader. He takes the reader from a single process to multiple processes that interact with each other; he explores processes that fail and processes that overcome failures; and he examines processes that attack each other or defend themselves against attacks. Day tells us that steps are digital but ramps are analog; that computation is about "doing something with stuff" and that both the "stuff" and the "doing" can be digital. He explains timesharing, deadlock, and thrashing; virtual memory and virtual machines; packets and networks; resources and servers; secret keys and public keys; Moore's law and Thompson's hack. He describes how building in redundancy guards against failure and how endpoints communicate across the Internet. He explains why programs crash or have other bugs, why they are attacked by viruses, and why those problems are hard to fix. Finally, after examining secrets, trust, and cheating, he explains the mechanisms that allow the Bitcoin system to record money transfers accurately while fending off attacks.
Call Number: QA76 .D3333327 2018
Publication Date: 2018-08-28
Enhanced Discovering Computers ¸2017 by Learn to maximize the use of mobile devices, make the most of online tools for collaboration and communications, and fully utilize today�s Internet capabilities with the latest edition of DISCOVERING COMPUTERS ENHANCED. You see how technology skills assist in gaining employment and advancing careers. This edition highlights Web Development, creating a strong web presence, and the latest Windows 10 information. To keep content as current as possible, online coverage of contemporary technology developments builds on the book�s discussions. The authors emphasize actionable content with a proven learning structure and practice to reinforce your skills. Self-assessments open each chapter, enabling you to target your study and learn more in less time. DISCOVERING COMPUTERS ENHANCED presents the content you need to succeed in a way that ensures understanding.
Call Number: QA76.5 .V47 2017
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
The Truth Machine by "Views differ on bitcoin, but few doubt the transformative potential of Blockchain technology. The Truth Machine is the best book so far on what has happened and what may come along. It demands the attention of anyone concerned with our economic future." --Lawrence H. Summers, Charles W. Eliot University Professor and President Emeritus at Harvard, Former Treasury Secretary From Michael J. Casey and Paul Vigna, the authors of The Age of Cryptocurrency, comes the definitive work on the Internet's Next Big Thing: The Blockchain. Big banks have grown bigger and more entrenched. Privacy exists only until the next hack. Credit card fraud is a fact of life. Many of the "legacy systems" once designed to make our lives easier and our economy more efficient are no longer up to the task. Yet there is a way past all this--a new kind of operating system with the potential to revolutionize vast swaths of our economy: the blockchain. In The Truth Machine, Michael J. Casey and Paul Vigna demystify the blockchain and explain why it can restore personal control over our data, assets, and identities; grant billions of excluded people access to the global economy; and shift the balance of power to revive society's faith in itself. They reveal the disruption it promises for industries including finance, tech, legal, and shipping. Casey and Vigna expose the challenge of replacing trusted (and not-so-trusted) institutions on which we've relied for centuries with a radical model that bypasses them. The Truth Machine reveals the empowerment possible when self-interested middlemen give way to the transparency of the blockchain, while highlighting the job losses, assertion of special interests, and threat to social cohesion that will accompany this shift. With the same balanced perspective they brought to The Age of Cryptocurrency, Casey and Vigna show why we all must care about the path that blockchain technology takes--moving humanity forward, not backward.
Call Number: HG1710 .C373 2019 c.1
Publication Date: 2019-03-05
Call Number: QA76.73.J39 D45 2017
Publication Date: 2017-02-24
Still can't find what you're looking for?
Talk to the librarians. We can request the books you need from other schools through the InterLibrary Loan Program.
Need a book right now? Try an Ebook!
Foundations of Computer Science by This volume contains proceedings of the 2017 International Conference on Foundations of Computer Science (FCS'17).
Publication Date: 2018-02-01
Encyclopedia of Computer Science by This book presents current research in the field of computer science. Topics discussed include developing soft computing approaches for flood level forecasting; soft computing in astronomy; fuzzy linear goal programming applied to solve assets and liability management problems in banks; computer-assisted teaching on science education; inquiry web-based learning to enhance knowledge construction; new forms of and tools for co-operative learning with social software in higher education; e-technology use and abuse in university classrooms; a strategy for analysing digital epistemic games and exploring the educational possibilities of computer games.
Publication Date: 2012-02-01
Information Security by The rapid advancements in telecommunications, computing hardware and software, and data encryption, and the widespread use of electronic data processing and electronic business conducted through the Internet have led to a strong increase in information security threats. The latest advances in information security have increased practical deployments and scalability across a wide range of applications to better secure and protect our information systems and the information stored, processed and transmitted. This book outlines key emerging trends in information security from the foundations and technologies in biometrics, cybersecurity, and big data security to applications in hardware and embedded systems security, computer forensics, the Internet of Things security, and network security. Information Security: Foundations, technologies and applications is a comprehensive review of cutting-edge algorithms, technologies, and applications, and provides new insights into a range of fundamentally important topics in the field. This up-to-date body of knowledge is essential reading for researchers and advanced students in information security, and for professionals in sectors where information security is required.
Publication Date: 2018-06-08
QGIS Quick Start Guide by Step through loading GIS data, creating GIS data, styling GIS and making maps with QGIS following a simple narrative that will allow you to build confidence as you progress. Key Features Work with GIS data, a step by step guide from creation to making a map Perform geoprocessing tasks and automate them using model builder Explore a range of features in QGIS 3.4, discover the power behind open source desktop GIS Book Description QGIS is a user friendly, open source geographic information system (GIS). The popularity of open source GIS and QGIS, in particular, has been growing rapidly over the last few years. This book is designed to help beginners learn about all the tools required to use QGIS 3.4. This book will provide you with clear, step-by-step instructions to help you apply your GIS knowledge to QGIS. You begin with an overview of QGIS 3.4 and its installation. You will learn how to load existing spatial data and create vector data from scratch. You will then be creating styles and labels for maps. The final two chapters demonstrate the Processing toolbox and include a brief investigation on how to extend QGIS. Throughout this book, we will be using the GeoPackage format, and we will also discuss how QGIS can support many different types of data. Finally, you will learn where to get help and how to become engaged with the GIS community. What you will learn Use existing data to interact with the canvas via zoom/pan/selection Create vector data and a GeoPackage and build a simple project around it Style data, both vector and raster data, using the Layer Styling Panel Design, label, save, and export maps using the data you have created Analyze spatial queries using the Processing toolbox Expand QGIS with the help of plugins, model builder, and the command line Who this book is for If you know the basic functions and processes of GIS, and want to learn to use QGIS to analyze geospatial data and create rich mapping applications, then this is the book for you.
Publication Date: 2019-01-31
Wireless Networks by This volume contains the proceedings of the 2017 International Conference on Wireless Networks (ICWN'17).
Publication Date: 2018-02-01
Information Modelling and Knowledge Bases XXXI by Information modeling and knowledge bases have become an important area of academic and industry research in the 21st century, addressing complexities of modeling that reach beyond the traditional borders of information systems and academic computer science research.This book presents 32 reviewed, selected and updated papers delivered at the 29th International Conference on Information Modeling and Knowledge Bases (EJC2019), held in Lappeenranta, Finland, from 3 to 7 June 2019. In addition, two papers based on the keynote presentations and one paper edited from the discussion of the panel session are included in the book. The conference provided a forum to exchange scientific results and experience, and attracted academics and practitioners working with information and knowledge. The papers cover a wide range of topics, ranging from knowledge discovery through conceptual and linguistic modeling, knowledge and information modeling and discovery, cross-cultural communication and social computing, environmental modeling and engineering, and multimedia data modeling and systems to complex scientific problem-solving. The conference presentation sessions: Learning and Linguistics; Systems and Processes; Data and Knowledge Representation; Models and Interface; Formalizations and Reasoning; Models and Modeling; Machine Learning; Models and Programming; Environment and Predictions; and Emotion Modeling and Social Networks reflect the main themes of the conference. The book also includes 2 extended publications of keynote addresses: 'Philosophical Foundations of Conceptual Modeling' and ´Sustainable Solid Waste Management using Life Cycle Modeling for Environmental Impact Assessment', as well as additional material covering the discussion and findings of the panel session.Providing an overview of current research in the field, the book will be of interest to all those working with information systems, information modeling and knowledge bases.
Publication Date: 2020-01-06