LibGuides: How to Read Scholarly Articles: Where to Find Scholarly Articles

Where to Find Scholarly Articles

Harold Washington College Library, and the rest of the City College libraries, subscribe to many different databases for students to use to find scholarly materials. Find our most commonly used databases below.

For more information on how to form a search strategy or develop keywords for searching visit our Library Guides and Research Help page.

General Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
General database of academic journals in the sciences and humanities. Includes full text scholarly / peer-reviewed articles. Tutorials: Text | Video
Proquest Databases and Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A list of ProQuest databases subscribed to by CCC.

Social Sciences

Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
The database covers gender inequality, masculinity, postfeminism, gender identity, and other topics related to gender studies.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Professional development resources for educators and administrators.

Physical Sciences

Energy & Power Source This link opens in a new window
Energy & Power Source is a comprehensive full-text database designed to support the informational needs of the energy and power industries at all levels. This collection provides unmatched full-text coverage of information relevant to many areas integral to the energy and power industries, encompassing all component industries within, including those focused on petroleum, natural gas, electric power, coal, nuclear power, renewable energy, and others.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Features full text articles on nursing and allied health topics.

Arts & Humanities

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This resource offers both scholarly and popular perspectives on film and television studies.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
This database includes full text articles, critical essays, biographies, reviews and other works from scholarly journals and literary magazines concerning authors, their works, and literary movements.