Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Try these titles to get you started
Daley College has hundreds of Philosophy books. Search Encore for additional titles.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy by This is the most authoritative and comprehensive one-volume dictionary of philosophy available in English. It contains over 4,000 entries, which range in length from 100 to 4,000 words. The Dictionary has been written by an international team of over 350 experts, so, rather than offering the limited perspective of a single writer, it distils the collective knowledge of the professional community of philosophers in an accessible manner.The Cambridge Dictionary clearly and concisely defines both technical terms and crucial concepts, and will promote the understanding of philosophy on all levels and across all fields. It includes substantial explanatory articles on all major philosophers as well as hundreds of minor figures. There are expansive, up-to-date overviews of all the important sub-disciplines such as ethics, epistemology, metaphysics, philosophy of mind and logic. No other reference work on philosophy contains so many entries on related subjects such as cognitive science, linguistics, theology, law, history of science and literature.
Call Number: B41 .C35 1995
Publication Date: 1995-07-28
Philosophy by The DEEP and MEANINGFUL way to learn PHILOSOPHY Trying to understand philosophy but feeling a bit skeptical? It's time to listen to reason! Philosophy Demystified helps you grasp both fundamental and complex topics with ease. Written in a step-by-step format, this practical guide begins with an overview of Western philosophy and coverage of correct reasoning and critical thinking. The book goes on to discuss major branches of philosophy, including epistemology, metaphysics, ethics, and political philosophy. In-depth examples, detailed diagrams, and concise explanations make it easy to understand the material, and end-of-chapter quizzes and a final exam help reinforce learning. It's a no-brainer! You'll learn about: Knowledge and the problem of skepticism The problem of induction and the development of externalism Personhood and personal identity over time The question of God's existence Moral decision-making Justice, rights, and government Simple enough for a beginner, but challenging enough for an advanced student, Philosophy Demystified helps you master this fascinating subject.
Call Number: BD31 .A77 2011
Publication Date: 2011-05-09
Guide to Understanding Philosophy by Complex ideas explained in everyday language! Is there life after death? Are euthanasia, suicide, or stem cell research ethical acts? Does the use of performance enhancers in sports constitute cheating? These are the types of philosophical questions people face today. Philosophy is not a dead set of doctrines--it's a living body of knowledge that you can use to guide behavior and problem solving. In a lively, easy-to-follow approach, The Everything Guide to Understanding Philosophy introduces you to the major thinkers and the problems they've pondered over the last 2,600 years. In plain English, author Kenneth Shouler, Ph.D. explains all of the great philosophies--and provides contemporary examples to put them in perspective. He delves into the minds of such philosophers as: Socrates, Plato, and Aristotle Augustine and Aquinas Spinoza and Descartes Locke and Hume Mill and Nietzsche Russell and Sartre If you're ready to broaden your outlook on life, this is the book for you. Endlessly fascinating--and always clear and concise--it's the perfect introduction for budding philosophers!
Call Number: BD21 .S56 2008
Publication Date: 2008-07-01
Daley College subscribes to EBSCO ebooks, which can accessed from home 24 hours a day.
Philosophy in Seven Sentences by Philosophy is not a closed club or a secret society. It's for anyone who thinks big questions are worth talking about. To get us started, Douglas Groothuis unpacks seven pivotal sentences from the history of western philosophy--a few famous, all short, none trivial. Included are:"The unexamined life is not worth living."--Socrates"You have made us for yourself, and our hearts are restless until they rest in you."--Augustine"I think, therefore I am."--Decartes"The heart has reasons, that reason knows nothing of."--PascalSentences from Protagoras, Aristotle and Kierkegaard round out this quick tour.Since every philosopher has a story, not just a series of ideas, Groothuis also offers a bit of each one's life to set the stage. The seven sterling sentences themselves, while they can't tell us all there is to know, offer bridges into other lands of thought which can spark new ideas and adventures. And who knows where they might lead?
Publication Date: 2016-02-06
Immortality and the Philosophy of Death by Death comes for us all eventually. Philosophers have long been perplexed by how we ought to feel about death. Many people fear death and believe that death is bad for the person who dies. But is death bad for us, and if so, how is its badness best explained? If we do not survive death if death is simply a state of nothingness how can death be bad for us? If death is bad for us, do we have good reason to live as long as possible? Would an immortal life really be a good human life or would even an immortal life eventually become tedious and make us long for mortality? This volume presents fourteen philosophical essays that examine our attitudes toward mortality and immortality. The topics addressed have become more urgent as scientists attempt to extend the human lifespan, perhaps even indefinitely. This book invites the reader to critically appraise his or her own attitudes toward death and immortality by exploring the ethical, metaphysical, and psychological complexities associated with these issues."
Publication Date: 2015-12-08
Philosophy by Philosophy is a fun introduction to deep thinking and the history of philosophy in an accessible comic format. All the most pressing philosophical matters are addressed what is thinking? And how does our thinking set us apart from other animals? Now that readers are thinking, what is reality? Is there an objective reality or are there numerous subjective realities? And do individuals move in it with a free will or is everything predestined? This is a colourful journey through the fascinating and slightly mind-boggling history of Western philosophy.
Publication Date: 2012-08-01