Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using Reference Resources
What are they? They are great starting points when conducting research because they provide brief and factual information. These are considered reliable sources given that their authors are experts. You can find general and subject-specific Reference Resources available in print and electronic formats.
What are they useful for?
- To look for facts, statistics, definitions, etc.
- To get background information or an overview of an issue.
What are some examples? Dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, etc.
Recommended Reference Resources (Print)
Death and Dying Sourcebook by
Call Number: R726.8.D3785 2016 (MXC Reference)
Publication Date: 2016-12-22
This print and online resource provides consumer health information about end-of-life perspectives and the medical management of symptoms that can occur as death draws near.
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary by
Call Number: R121.D73 2012 (MXC Reference)
Publication Date: 2011-05-02
Gray's Anatomy by
Call Number: QM 23.2.G73 2016 (MXC Reference)
Publication Date: 2015-09-25
Recommended Reference Resources (Online)
Funk and Wagnall’s New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
A general encyclopedia with more than 250,000 full text short articles.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of full text encyclopedias and reference sources for research and ready reference. Enables one search that covers all sources. Subjects include arts, sciences, medicine, and the humanities.
Sage eReference This link opens in a new window
Collection has more than 4000 books in the social science areas of: business, management, counseling, criminology, education, geography, health, media, communication, politics, international relations, psychology, and sociology. Bibliographic searches only.