Visual Arts: Architecture

Search the library catalog

Search library databases (CCC login required):

• Academic Search Complete
• Architecture in the Arts Collection in Gale Virtual Reference Library
• JSTOR
• New York Times since 1980
• ProQuest Newspapers

• cccarchitecture.org provides info and resources for City Colleges students 
• The AIA Historical Directory of American Architects
• AIA Topics
• Architecture Dictionary from the CAF
• archiDATUM | Architecture in Africa
• Art and Architecture Thesaurus Online
• Bauhaus Online Collection from Harvard Art Museums
• Brief Biographies of American Architects Who Died Between 1897 and 1947
• Buildings of Chicago Database from the CAF
• CAF Architecture Dictionary
• Chicago Public Library
• Hathi Trust Digital Library "(offers) a collection of millions of titles digitized from (academic & research institutions) around the world."
• MetPublications provides access to "five decades of Met publications on art history, available to read, download, and/or search for free," including full-length books.
• Resources from the National Institute of Building Sciences
• Research Paper Library of the CTBUH
• The Ryerson and Burnham Libraries at the Art Institute of Chicago
• The Skyscraper Center: The Global Tall Building Database of the CTBUH
• Smarthistory "is a non-profit collaboration that brings (world-class resources on art and cultural objects from) art's global history to everyone" through videos, essays, and more.
• Society of Architectural Historians Publications and Research, including SAH Archipedia, "an authoritative online encyclopedia of the U.S. built environment ... (containing) histories, photographs, and maps for over 20,000 structures and places. These are mostly buildings, but as you explore ... you will also find landscapes, infrastructure, monuments, artwork, and more." 

Circulation Desk: (312) 553-5760
Reference Desk: (312) 553-5784

• The American Institute of Architects (AIA)
• ATC (Applied Technology Council)
• Chicago Architecture Center (CAC)
• Chicago Architecture Foundation (CAF)
• Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat (CTBUH)
• CAC DiscoverDesign Project
• Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation
• Society of Architectural Historians
• Student Clubs and Groups at Harold Washington College

• 333 W. Wacker 
• Aon Center
• Aqua Tower
• Carbide and Carbon Building
• Chicago Board of Trade Building
• Chicago Cultural Center
• Harold Washington Library Center
• Inland Steel Building
• James R. Thompson Center (State of Illinois Building)
• 875 N. Michigan Ave. (John Hancock Center)
• Lake Point Tower
• Marina City
• Merchandise Mart
• Monadnock Building
• One Prudential Plaza
• The Rookery
• Sullivan Center (Carson, Pirie, Scott Building)
• Tribune Tower
• Chicago Water Tower and Pumping Station
• Willis Tower (Sears Tower)
• Wrigley Building

Copyright "is a form of protection grounded in the U.S. Constitution and granted by law for original works of authorship fixed in a tangible medium of expression. Copyright covers both published and unpublished works." Learn more here. 

Fair Use allows "the unlicensed use of copyright-protected works in certain circumstances." Learn more here.

Creative Commons licenses make creative works "freely available for legal use, sharing, repurposing, and remixing" by "any member of the public." The CC Search search engine lets you "search for free content in the public domain and under Creative Commons licenses. Learn more about CC licenses here."

More information:

The MLA, Chicago, and Turabian citation styles may be used in writing about art. Check your syllabus or contact your professor to find out which style they prefer.

Quick guides to citing images: 

• Citing Images in MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian styles - from University of Cincinnati
• Citing images found online in MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian - from Simon Fraser University

ARTSTOR's guides to Using Images and Copyright, including Citing Sources

College Art Association Guidelines regarding Fair Use and Copyright:

• Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for the Visual Arts, CAA
• Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Academic and Research Libraries, Association of Research Libraries
• Copyrights and Permissions in Scholarly and Educational Publishing
• Guide to the New York Print and Photograph Law
• Fine Art Print Publication Guidelines for Artists
• Quick Guide to Artists’ Rights under the 1977 Copyright Law
• Promotion of Distance Education through Digital Technologies
• Visual Resources Association: Statement on the Fair Use of Images for Teaching, Research, and Study

Fair Use Evaluator

Statement on Fair Use from the Visual Resources Association