Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Columbia Film Language Glossary is an excellent resource, including illustrations and film clips as examples
- Hathi Trust Digital Library "(offers) a collection of millions of titles digitized from (academic & research institutions) around the world."
- IndieWire is "a preeminent source for film and television news, reviews, interviews, global festival coverage and more"
- In Focus makes essays published in each issue of Cinema Journal available online
- Jump Cut: A Review of Contemporary Media has been "looking at media in its social and political context ... analyzing media in relation to class, race, and gender" since 1974
- Lantern "is the search platform for the collections of the Media History Digital Library, ... which ... digitizes collections of classic media periodicals (and books) that belong in the public domain for full public access"
- Margaret Herrick Library Digital Collections "is an online database that provides public access to digitized materials from the collections of the Margaret Herrick Library," as well as Academy publications.
- MOVIE: A Journal of Film Criticism "is a refereed open access publication ... (which publishes) rigorous but accessible critical writing"
- Open Culture provides access to over 1,000 free movies online, including classics, Noir, Westerns, documentaries, independent films, and more
- Professional Notes from the Society for Cinema & Media Studies "lists recent books published in media studies, as well as articles on film and TV published in non-media journals"
- Reverse Shot is an online journal published by the Museum of the Moving Image
- Scope "is a fully peer-reviewed online journal edited by staff and students ... at the University of Nottingham"
- Senses of Cinema "is an online journal devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema"
- Smarthistory "is a non-profit collaboration that brings (world-class resources on art and cultural objects from) art's global history to everyone" through videos, essays, and more.
I am indebted to the librarians at UC San Diego for much of this information: https://ucsd.libguides.com/c.php?g=90788&p=585537, accessed 24 October 2018
Citations, Copyright and Fair Use in the Visual Arts
Copyright "is a form of protection grounded in the U.S. Constitution and granted by law for original works of authorship fixed in a tangible medium of expression. Copyright covers both published and unpublished works." Learn more here.
Fair Use allows "the unlicensed use of copyright-protected works in certain circumstances." Learn more here.
Creative Commons licenses make creative works "freely available for legal use, sharing, repurposing, and remixing" by "any member of the public." The CC Search search engine lets you "search for free content in the public domain and under Creative Commons licenses. Learn more about CC licenses here."
The MLA, Chicago, and Turabian citation styles may be used in writing about art. Check your syllabus or contact your professor to find out which style they prefer.
Quick guides to citing images:
ARTSTOR's guides to Using Images and Copyright, including Citing Sources
College Art Association Guidelines regarding Fair Use and Copyright:
Fair Use Evaluator
Statement on Fair Use from the Visual Resources Association
Circulation Desk: (312) 553-5760
Reference Desk: (312) 553-5784
Local Independent and Arthouse Theaters
Scripts and Screenplays
Free internet sources for scripts and transcripts. Some of these sites aren't "official" repositories by screenwriters or studios, and may contain early drafts rather than the final shooting script.
Free internet resource with downloadable scripts, movie scripts, screenplays, and transcripts of movies, television, and radio. Also includes some treatments.
Several hundred screenplays, including a number of more contemporary films.
Free site with a range of film and television scripts (in varying drafts) and transcripts. Quality also varies, but worth checking for unpublished content.
50 of the Best Screenplays to Read and Download in Every Genre (Script Reader Pro)
Downloadable scripts for contemporary films in five main genre categories: Drama, Comedy, Action/Adventure, Thriller and Horror.
Includes online scripts for U.S. and U.K. television programs.
BBC Script Library
Downloadable BBC scripts from radio, television, and film. Titles include Brooklyn, An Education, Jane Eyre, and selected scripts from Doctor Who.
Movie Transcript Database
From Springfield! Springfield!, contains thousands of transcribed movie scripts, arranged alphabetically and searchable by title.
TV Show Episode Transcripts
From Springfield! Springfield!, contains transcribed dialogue from television shows.
Internet Movie Script Database
Free script database with mostly contemporary film script drafts. Warning: the site does have multiple pop-up ads.
The Daily Script
Online drafts of film and television scripts.
Several dozen film scripts, listed alphabetically in a mix of formats and drafts.
Small selection of film, television, and radio scripts, with varying drafts available.
Screenplays for You
Selection of screenplays and some transcripts online.
Movie Scripts and Screenplays
Broad selection of movie scripts from different time periods, including a mix of early drafts and shooting scripts.
Joblo's Movie Screenplays
Selection of links to online screenplays on other sites.
Disney Guild Awards screenplays
Small number of Disney and Marvel scripts from recent films, including Guardians of the Galaxy vol. 2 and Beauty and the Beast.
Script to Screen
Instagram page that does not contain entire scripts, but does show video clips of key scenes from many films side by side with their typed scripts.