Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Suggested Search Terms
Search for phrases describing kinds of comics:
- "graphic novels"
- "comic books"
- "comic strips"
- "sequential art"
- "graphic literature"
- "visual narrative"
Search for comic book writers and artists by full name:
- "Fiona Staples"
- "Will Eisner"
- "Stan Lee"
- "Geoff Johns"
Search for comic titles, characters, or settings as keywords or phrases:
- "The Dark Knight Returns"
- "Gotham City"
Discover scholarly articles, newspaper articles, and magazine articles and e-books using the databases below.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
General database of academic journals in the sciences and humanities. Includes full text scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Professional development resources for educators and administrators.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of full text encyclopedias and reference sources for research and ready reference. Enables one search that covers all sources. Subjects include arts, sciences, medicine, and the humanities.
Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
The database covers gender inequality, masculinity, postfeminism, gender identity, and other topics related to gender studies.
Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
Resources for pop culture research covering the early 1900s-2000s.
Proquest Databases and Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A list of ProQuest databases subscribed to by CCC.