LibGuides: Criminal Justice: Other Resources

Current News Resources

The Crime Report (TCR)
TCR "is (a) comprehensive news service covering the diverse challenges and issues of 21st century criminal justice in the U.S. and abroad. ...(It) is published daily through the year by the Center on Media, Crime and Justice at the John Jay College of Criminal Justice in New York."
Chicago Police Department - News
"Read about community alerts, public service announcements and other CPD related news."
Chicago Tribune (requires CCC login)
Chicago Tribune Breaking News (& More)
New York Times (requires CCC login)
New York Times Breaking News, World News, Multimedia
(access up to 10 free articles per month)

Juvenile Justice Resources

Equal Justice Initiative - Children in Prison
Case studies, news, videos, and other resources regarding children in prison.
Illinois Department of Juvenile Justice
Provides information regarding Illinois-specific juvenile justice data, programs, resources, and more.
Juvenile Justice Blog
The JJB provides "a central source for the latest news, information, scholarship, and commentary on issues related to juvenile justice in the United States."
Juvenile Law Center - Resources
"Juvenile Law Center advocates for rights, dignity, equity and opportunity for youth in the child welfare and justice systems. ... Widely published and internationally recognized as leaders in the field, Juvenile Law Center has substantially shaped the development of law and policy on behalf of youth."
Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
The OJJDP seeks to improve juvenile justice outcomes through providing guidance to communities on effective programming and policy. The website provides information about specific programs, internal publications, and statistics and data on various juvenile justice issues.
youth.gov - Juvenile Justice
"youth.gov is the U.S. government website that helps you create, maintain, and strengthen effective youth programs. Included are youth facts, funding information, and tools to help you assess community assets, generate maps of local and federal resources, search for evidence-based youth programs, and keep up-to-date on the latest, youth-related news."
Youth Today - Juvenile Justice
"Youth Today (provides) readers with professional news coverage dedicated to examining a wide spectrum of complex issues in the youth services industry from legislation to community-based youth work."

Data and Statistics

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Provides reports and data on "crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government." Data runs through 2008.
Chicago Data Collaborative
"The Chicago Data Collaborative is a cooperative effort by newsrooms, academics, and nonprofit researchers to help each other understand our criminal justice system."
Citizens Police Data Project
CPDP "collects and publishes information
about police misconduct in Chicago"
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NAJCD)
"The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis."
Pew Research Center
"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research."
Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program
The UCR provides nation-wide crime statistics. A division of the FBI, additional criminal justice related reports at the national level can also be located on this website.

Evaluating Sources

Evaluate information sources using CRAAP:

Currency: is the information timely for my purposes? when was it published? has the information been revised or updated?
Relevance: is the information directly relatable to my research question? does it support my argument?
Authority: who wrote or published the information? what are their credentials?
Accuracy: is the information corroborated by other sources?
Purpose: is the information unbiased? consider the author/publisher's purpose: is the information intended to educate or inform you, to persuade you, to sell you something, or for another reason?

When evaluating information on the open web, use CRAAP and also:

maintain a healthy sense of skepticism:
- check your biases (are you finding the information you think you want to find?)
- ask yourself if the information is a joke or satire
when in doubt ask a librarian - Email Us or call 312.553.5784

Google Scholar

Government Documents & Information

Government Documents & Information Research Guide
Office of Justice Programs
The Office of Justice Programs (OJP) ... (disseminates) state-of-the art knowledge and practices across America."

Additional Criminal Justice Websites

American Bar Association Criminal Justice Resources
Legal Information Institute
NAACP Criminal Justice Fact Sheet
The Sentencing Project
The Sentencing Project is a non-governmental organization promoting criminal justice reforms in sentencing. The website state by state criminal justice data and publications focusing on current issues in criminal justice, including juvenile justice.
University of Chicago Crime Lab
"The Crime Lab partners with civic and community leaders to design, test, and scale promising programs and policies to reduce crime and violence." (scroll down for Projects and Publications)

Contact Us

Circulation Desk: (312) 553-5760
Reference Desk: (312) 553-5784