Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HWC Library Final Exams Week Support: Home

Finals Week Support from the HWC Library

Whether you're looking for academic support, organizational tools, or ways to relax during Finals Week, the HWC Library has you covered. This guide includes a variety of selected resources to help get you through the end of the semester.  

Contact A Librarian

Chat is available 7 days a week from 8 am to 10 pm

Planning and Preparing

Assignment Calculator

Created at the University of Minnesota, the Assignment Calendar allows you to plug in your start date and due date for a project and provides a calendar of steps for completing it.

Please note that this link takes you to the University of Minnesota's calendar which links to resources on their website and on the websites of other libraries. However, it is a useful tool if you are interested in a general outline that takes you through steps you can follow to stay on track in completing a project. 

Daily Study Plan

The Research Process

The following links will walk you through the process of doing research once you have settled on a topic from starting your research to search for information in the library's database to evaluating information sources.

1. Starting Your Research

2. Developing Keywords

3. Locating Sources

4. Evaluating Sources

5. Citations and Plagiarism

Remote Access to Library Databases

All library databases linked to are subscription databases. This means that to access them from anywhere outside of a City College building, you will need to log in with your CCC username and password. Note: Enter the username without the @student.ccc.edu ending.

The login page will look like this:

Finals Week Movies in the Library

Movie poster for Jean Cocteau's Beauty and the Beast

Playing Tuesday, May 10 at 1:00PM in 501K.

Playing Wednesday, May 11 at 1:00PM in 501K.

Movie poster of Downtown 81.

Playing Thursday, May 12 at 1:00PM in 501K.

Playing Friday, May 13 at 1:00PM in 501K.

Coffee On Us!

Stop by the Library for a cup of coffee on Wednesday, May 3 while supplies last.

Study Break Station

If you're in the library during finals week, visit our Study Break Station in the southeast corner (next to 501A/B). There, you'll find jigsaw puzzles, coloring sheets, origami paper, and other activities to relax with in between study sessions. 

Coloring Books

Watch A Movie

The Academic Video Online (AVON) database includes more than 300 movies from Sony Pictures Classics. Scroll through the offerings in this window, or go directly to Academic Video Online and search their offerings. 

Stress Management Activities

Meditation

UCLA Mindful App: Free app developed by the UCLA Mindful Awareness Research Center that introduces you to mindful meditation.

Guided Yoga Nidra: Set aside twenty minutes to relax with this guided relaxation technique. Learn more about yoga nidra here.

Animal Cams

National Aquarium Livestreams

Georgia Aquarium Beluga Whale Cam

Aquarium of the Pacific Tropic Reef Cam

Soothing Sounds

Rainy Day at the Coffee Shop Ambiance Audio

Nature Sounds: Stream and birds

Relax With A Magazine

Flipster

Flipster is a next-generation digital magazine distribution service which lets users access a wide range of magazines. Accessible via a desktop web browser or Apple, Android, and Kindle Fire apps, with which Flipster users can download magazines to read offline, anytime, anywhere.

Connect with Us

Connect with us on Instagram @hwc_library for news and information about resources, events, and more at the HWC Library.

Contact The Library