ANTHRO 201 Anthropology: Home

The HWC Library is open:

Mon. & Tues.: 8AM - 8PM

Wed. & Thurs.: 8AM - 6PM

Friday: 8AM - 4PM

Chat Reference:

Mon. - Sun.: 10AM - 10PM

Placed a hold on a book and not sure if it is ready? Check your student email account for a notification or call 312-553-5760. 

Visit the Harold Washington College Library's Homepage

Start a reference chat session with a librarian by clicking on the ASK US button.

If you find that you require help beyond chat reference and may need to speak with a librarian, you can submit a research assistance request form. A librarian will be in touch with you to schedule a Zoom meeting or, if possible, a phone call.

Starting Your Podcast: A Guide for Students (NPR)

A Studio At Your Fingertips (NPR)

Podcast Library (American Anthropological Association)

How To Record A Podcast (The Podcast Host)

The Purdue Online Writing Lab provides information about APA style citations (both in-text citations and reference list citations) and of APA style paper formatting.

• For physical books located at City College Libraries, search the online catalog. 

• For ebooks, search the EBSCO eBook Collection. 

• For information from subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books, search Gale eBooks and Sage Social Science eReference.

• For articles from academic journals, magazines, and newspapers search Academic Search Complete, ProQuest, and JSTOR.

• For social issues, contemporary and controversial topics, search Opposing Viewpoints or CQ Researcher.

• Academic Video Online (AVON) from Alexander Street offers a variety of documentaries and academic videos for streaming. Swank and Kanopy are additional video databases.

If you would like to see a full list of the library's subscription databases, check out the alphabetized Full List of Library Databases. 

"Social bonds of female baboons enhance infant survival" 

"What a chatty monkey may tell us about learning to talk" 

"Primates at play show us why monkeying around is good for the brain" 

"Baboons are ruthless reproducers" 

"Language acquisition by a lowland gorilla: Koko's first ten years of vocabulary development" 

"Personality assessment in the Great Apes: Comparing ecologically valid behavior measures, behavior ratings, and adjective ratings"

"Communication within and between family groups of siamang (Symphalangus syndactylus)"

• American Anthropological Association (AAA) provides the skills, knowledge, and guidance for anthropologists from all disciplines and backgrounds to thrive in academic and practicing spaces.
• The American Association of Biological Anthropologists (AABA) seeks to advance understanding of the evolutionary history and diversity of the human and primate lineages, their biology, and life experiences through time.

All library databases linked to are subscription databases. This means that to access them from anywhere outside of a City College building, you will need to log in with your CCC username and password. Note: Enter the username without the @student.ccc.edu ending.

The login page will look like this:

The following links will walk you through the process of doing research once you have settled on a topic from starting your research to search for information in the library's database to evaluating information sources.

1. Starting Your Research

2. Developing Keywords

3. Locating Sources

4. Evaluating Sources

5. Citations and Plagiarism

Google Scholar is a Google platform that allows the user to search for information deemed scholarly from a variety of types of resources including journals, government documents, and websites. When searching, keep in mind that you may come across items that are not accessible in Google Scholar. You can always contact an HWC librarian with the citation information that is available in Google Scholar, and we can help you locate a copy. Remember that whenever you are doing research, and especially when using resources on the open internet, it is important to critically evaluate your sources of information.

This page from the University of Illinois Library provides more information about Google Scholar, its benefits and drawbacks, and how it compares to searching in a library database.