Library Introduction - Fall 2023

• For physical books located at City College Libraries, search the online catalog. 

• For ebooks, search the EBSCO eBook Collection or ProQuest Ebook Central.

• For information from subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books, search Gale Virtual Reference Library.

• For articles from academic journals, magazines, and newspapers search Academic Search Complete or ProQuest.

• For social issues, contemporary and controversial topics, search Opposing Viewpoints or CQ Researcher. 

• For Chicago specific resources, try the Chicago Tribune (1985 - present), Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1998) and the Chicago Defender (1909 - 2010) via ProQuest.

If you would like to see a full list of the library's subscription databases, check out the alphabetized Complete List of Library Databases or this Subject List of Library Database if you prefer to see them grouped by general subject area. 

All library databases linked to are subscription databases. This means that to access them from anywhere outside of a City College building, you will need to log in with your CCC username and password. Note: Enter the username without the @student.ccc.edu ending.

The login page will look like this:

The following links will walk you through the process of doing research once you have settled on a topic from starting your research to search for information in the library's database to evaluating information sources.

1. Starting Your Research

2. Developing Keywords

3. Locating Sources

4. Evaluating Sources

5. Citations and Plagiarism

Purdue University's OWL: MLA Formatting and Style Guide