Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Speech 101

Welcome to the Library

Hello Everyone,

This guide brings together the library resources that you will need to complete research for your speeches. If you have any questions for me while you are working on this assignment, please contact the library. It's our job to help you! :) You can sign up for a research consultation with a librarian. You can also chat with a librarian by using the chat box on this page or in the library catalog and databases. 

Thanks, 
Katie Ediger, Truman College Library Department Chair   

Lesson Plan

Start Searching!

Try out your keywords in the databases below: 

  •  Library Discovery Tool. Search most of the library's resources at once! Search for both eBooks and digital resources (like articles) here. You will be prompted to login with your CCC username and password. Watch the video below for tips on how to use this tool.  
  • Opposing Viewpoints. Covers important social issues, such as climate change, health care, and immigration. Browse by topic, or search all content. 
  • ProQuest U.S. Newsstream. U.S. news going back to 1980. For international newspapers, check out Global Newsstream.  
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library. This database contains many digital reference sources such as encyclopedias. 

Ask yourself the following questions for each databases: 

  1. What kinds of sources are you seeing?  

  1.  How do you limit the results by date? What other filters might you use? 

  1. How do you get a citation for an item?  

  1. How would you save something from this database?