LibGuides: Child Development Library Resources: Child Development Library Resources

Mission Statement

Children holding hands in front of a warm sky. Picture border is heart shaped. The mission of the Harold Washington College Child Development Program is to prepare students to be advocates for all young children and their families

by promoting equity in early childhood education through inclusive, anti-bias practices;
by supporting students as they build the academic and professional skills required of the Early Childhood Educator; and
by fostering strong, collaborative relationships as the foundation of this work that serves diverse communities across the City of Chicago.

The Harold Washington College Library supports the mission of the College and its programs by offering a variety of services and resources designed to support the curriculum and to foster the life-long learning pursuits of the HWC community. This page contains resources for key Child Development Program assignments.

NAEYC Position Statements

Developmentally Appropriate Practice (DAP)

Advancing Equity in Early Childhood

Code of Ethical Conduct

All NAEYC Position Statements

Books & eBooks

Search our online catalog for Books, eBooks, and other resources.

Databases

Education Full Text: This database provides information from full-text education journals.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources.
Primary Search: Full text of more than 70 resources for elementary school research.
Professional Development Collection: This database provides collections of over 500 full text journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles.
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines, some of which are available full-text.

Internet Resources

Edutopia: Evidence-based ideas and lessons for K-12 education.
Knowitall: ETV's educational Web portal, a collection of fun, interactive websites for K-12 students, teachers and parents.
The National Center of Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing related to education in the U.S and other nations.
The National Association for the Education of the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) is the leading membership association for those working with and on behalf of children from birth through age 8. NAEYC members include teachers, paraeducators, center directors, trainers, college educators, families of young children, and the public at large.
The National Institute for Early Education Research (NIEER) conducts and communicates research to support early childhood education for all young children.
PBS Child Development: Part of the PBS Parents, this website offers insights on the stages of growth and key milestones for children ages 1 thru 9.
ReadWriteThink has a wide variety of resources for teachers including lesson plans and graphic organizers.
The Teaching Channel: Resources for inspiring and effective teaching shared from teachers across the country.
U.S Department of Education: The U.S. Department of Education's mission is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access.
Zero to Three: National Center for Infants, Toddlers, and Families is a national, nonprofit organization that informs, trains, and supports professionals, policymakers, and parents in their efforts to improve the lives of infants and toddlers.

Child Development Library Resources: Child Development Library Resources

Mission Statement

NAEYC Position Statements

Books & eBooks

Databases

Internet Resources

Edutopia: Evidence-based ideas and lessons for K-12 education.

Knowitall: ETV's educational Web portal, a collection of fun, interactive websites for K-12 students, teachers and parents.

The National Center of Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing related to education in the U.S and other nations.

The National Institute for Early Education Research (NIEER) conducts and communicates research to support early childhood education for all young children.

PBS Child Development: Part of the PBS Parents, this website offers insights on the stages of growth and key milestones for children ages 1 thru 9.

ReadWriteThink has a wide variety of resources for teachers including lesson plans and graphic organizers.

The Teaching Channel: Resources for inspiring and effective teaching shared from teachers across the country.

U.S Department of Education: The U.S. Department of Education's mission is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access.

Zero to Three: National Center for Infants, Toddlers, and Families is a national, nonprofit organization that informs, trains, and supports professionals, policymakers, and parents in their efforts to improve the lives of infants and toddlers.