Open Educational Resources (OER)

AMSER (the Applied Math and Science Education Repository) is a portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use. AMSER is funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF) as part of the National Science Digital Library, and is being created by a team of project partners led by Internet Scout.

A web based tool that allows for the collection of digital curriculum materials, support materials, and other digital resources accessible to all faculty

Hosted by the Government of Canada and headquartered in Vancouver, Canada, The Commonwealth of Learning (COL) is the world’s only intergovernmental organization solely concerned with the promotion and development of distance education and open learning. COL helps developing Commonwealth countries increase their access to learning using distance education and appropriate technologies. Some course materials are available.

Their mission is to help equalize access to education globally, Curriki makes world-class learning materials freely available to educators, students, and parents around the world.

Our goal is to provide easy access to the Digital Libraries funded by the SMETE program. Our target audience/users are science educators who are need information and materials available in these libraries, but are uncertain which DLs may best assist them. With this in mind, we are also including digital objects and links that we believe will be either helpful or interesting to our users. We foresee that this DL could be expanded to include other free DLs in the future and our audience would grow to include other users.

It has than 1,500 federally supported teaching and learning resources are included from dozens of federal agencies.

The Free Curricula Center (FCC) helps students worldwide reach their educational potential by producing and distributing university-level curricula that can be copied freely and modified cooperatively. Specifically, FCC serves as a focal point for the development and sharing of textbooks, instructor guides, and other educational materials. These materials, called free curricula, are released at no cost into the public domain or under an "open source" style license. This license allows anyone to make and distribute copies without having to pay, and to modify the curricula as long as those modifications are released under the same terms. The Center helps its participants work together to create textbooks, instructor guides, and other materials for the subjects in which they have expertise. They do this by providing online tools to help educators collaborate successfully and by proving a space on the Internet where students can have free, easy access to their finished products. We also serve as a link to the resources of others, and mirror their material when permitted.

This repository is administrated by Affordable Learning Georgia, an initiative of GALILEO and the University System of Georgia which aims to reduce the cost of textbooks to students and contribute to their retention, progression, and graduation. For more about Affordable Learning Georgia, visit Affordable Learning Georgia's website.

Serving the international academic community since 1999, iBerry is a non-profit making website connecting to information and resources for learners, educators, researchers and anyone else with an interest in Higher Education. Our focus is on connection rather than content - we see iBerry as one small part of an emerging and Open Global Education Network that one day will bring inexpensive education to anyone, anywhere, regardless of their circumstances.

Apple made a splash at the beginning of 2012 with the announcement of its iTunesU app. Although content is available through the regular iTunes site, the iTunesU app allows users to organize course lectures, notes, books, and other supporting materials for an entire course or combination of courses. Participating educational and cultural institutions number in the thousands and make varying degrees of content freely available—from one-off video or audio lectures to full blown courses complete with syllabi, lecture notes, iBook textbooks, quizzes, and more. Some content is simply an upload of a static film taken from the back of a traditional university lecture hall. Other content is created specifically for use in iTunesU.

A service and platform that formulates social learning by using visual and auditory content provided online by institutions such as universities and other organizations. Self-learners can enjoy these contents (video and audio) and use the Fusen (foo-sen) to study and share with their fellow users. Application of over 60 thousand lecture contents mainly composed by renowned overseas universities. Emphatic learning generated by the Fusen.Enabling the sharing of comments and knowledge with Fusen and social media. The Fusen allows the placing of digital stickies on visual and auditory contents. By applying this, the user is able to leave digital stickies with notes for portions which they find relevant. One can simply refer to the time and notes in ease, which conduces efficacious “reflective study.” Further, these stickies can be shared with other users and can be linked with Twitter, Facebook and possibly with other social media which yields reciprocal use of knowledge.

OER courses that improve learning, covering 50+ high-enrollment college subjects.

The Maricopa Learning eXchange (MLX) is an electronic warehouse of ideas, examples, and resources (represented as "packages") that support student learning at the Maricopa Community Colleges.

The Math Forum is a leading center for mathematics and mathematics education on the Internet. Operating under Drexel's Goodwin College of Professional Studies, our mission is to provide resources, materials, activities, person-to-person interactions, and educational products and services that enrich and support teaching and learning in an increasingly technological world.

Multimedia Educational Resources for Learning and Online Teaching (MERLOT) is a project of California State University and offers peer reviewed online teaching and learning materials.

It provides E-learning through online Web and Video courses in Engineering, Science and humanities streams. The mission of NPTEL is to enhance the quality of Engineering education in the country by providing free online courseware

Materials range from pre-k to secondary. Along with other materials, textbooks are included.

The OpenDOAR service provides a quality-assured listing of open access repositories around the world. OpenDOAR staff harvest and assign metadata to allow categorization and analysis to assist the wider use and exploitation of repositories. Each of the repositories has been visited by OpenDOAR staff to ensure a high degree of quality and consistency in the information provided: OpenDOAR is maintained by SHERPA Services, based at the Centre for Research Communications at the University of Nottingham.

The Open Learning Initiative (OLI) is a grant-funded group at Carnegie Mellon University, offering innovative online courses to anyone who wants to learn or teach. Their aim is to create high-quality courses and contribute original research to improve learning and transform higher education.

Open-Of-Course only publishes educational information that is published as open content. Open content makes it possible to share educational information, because the licenses explicitly allow that. Licenses you see here are mainly gpl and creative commons licenses. They give users the right to share our courses with others, print the material and spread it, etc.

The United Kingdom's only university dedicated to distance learning. Through academic research, pedagogic innovation and collaborative partnership it seeks to be a world leader in the design, content and delivery of supported open and distance learning. The site includes Open Learn which provides free learning resources.

Since 2008, the Foundation’s free education initiative has focused on exploring the promise of the Internet to drive the cost of education to zero and expand access to quality open educational resources (OER). Toward this end, Saylor has built over 300 free, self-paced, online courses, with many more on the way.

The Scholar’s Box is a four-year U.S. Department of Education project to develop models for creating and sharing open and reusable digital collections to improve campus scholarship and K-12 education.

Temoa contains selected educational resources, described and evaluated by an academic community. Resources are categorized by area of knowledge, educational level and language, among others.

A community project working collaboratively with the Free Culture Movement towards a free version of the education curriculum by 2015. Driven by the learning for development agenda WikiEducator is developing free content for use in schools, polytechnics, universities, vocational education institutions and informal education settings.

A community for the creation and use of free learning materials and activities. Wikiversity is a multidimensional social organization dedicated to learning, teaching, research and service. Available in Dutch, French, Spanish, and English.

This makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.

Learners and educators can use XPERT to search a growing database of open learning resources suitable for students at all levels of study in a wide range of different subjects.

This tool directs your search to content from a host of top OER repositories added by users.