Skip to Main Content

ANTHRO 202 Cultural Anthropology - Yolanda Chapman, instructor

HWC Librarian

HWC Library Information

The HWC Library is open:

Mon. - Thurs.: 8AM - 8PM

Friday: 8AM - 4PM

Chat Reference:

Mon. - Sun.: 10AM - 10PM

Placed a hold on a book and not sure if it is ready? Check your student email account for a notification or call 312-553-5760. 

Visit the Harold Washington College Library's Homepage

Chat With A Librarian

Start a reference chat session with a librarian by clicking on the ASK US button.

Schedule A Research Consultation

If you find that you require help beyond chat reference and may need to speak with a librarian, you can submit a research assistance request form. A librarian will be in touch with you to schedule a Zoom meeting or, if possible, a phone call.

APA Style from the Purdue OWL

The Purdue Online Writing Lab provides information about APA style citations (both in-text citations and reference list citations) and of APA style paper formatting.

Scholarly vs. Popular Information Sources

What is scholarly? What is popular? What's the difference?

Podcast Information

Starting Your Podcast: A Guide for Students (NPR)

A Studio At Your Fingertips (NPR)

Podcast Library (American Anthropological Association)

How To Record A Podcast (The Podcast Host)

Selected Resources for Cultural Anthropology

If you would like to see a full list of the library's subscription databases, check out the alphabetized Full List of Library Databases or the Subject List of Library Databases if you prefer to see them grouped by general subject area. 

Textbooks

  • Course Textbook: 

  • Supplemental and Comparison Textbooks:

    • Cultural Anthropology: a Problem-Based Approach by Richard H. Robbins and Rachel Dowty, 2017.  
    • Cultural Anthropology: Global Forces, Local Lives by Jack David Eller, 2016. 
    • Cultural Anthropology: the Human Challenge by William A. Haviland, Harald E.L. Prins, Bunny McBride, and Dana Walrath, 2017. 
    • Handbook of Sociocultural Anthropology edited by James G. Carrier and Deborah B. Gewertz, 2013. 
    • An Introduction to Cultural Anthropology by C. Nadia Seremetakis, 2017. 
    • Perspectives: An Open Invitation to Cultural Anthropology by the Society for Anthropology in Community Colleges -- 2nd Edition. 

Ethnographies – Open Access Books and Digital Resources

Many ethnography books are available, from the very specific to the very general. Use these links as additional resources to the ones found on the college library website. Browse a site, select a book, copy the url link, and then download the book. Alternatively, you can use the sites to help you select an ethnography that interests you.

Instructor Yolanda Chapman’s Favorite Ethnographies:

  • Violence and Hope in a U.S. Mexico Border Town by Jody Glittenberg, 2008

  • Visionary Vine: Hallucinogenic Healing in the Peruvian Amazon by Marlene Dobkin de Rios, 1984

Videos

Cultural Anthropology: Our Diverse World – a CUNY TV series by Coast Learning Systems; CENGAGE Learning. 2 DVD set. Available at Olive-Harvey Audio Visual (DVD 85)

  • “Cultural Anthropology: Our Diverse World introduces the central concepts, concerns, and research methods of cultural anthropology. This course takes a cross-cultural approach to diverse subject areas, including subsistence patterns, political organization, the family, social organization, economics, kinship, language, the arts, and religion. As Cultural Anthropology: Our Diverse World explores the various ways in which the human species has responded to the fundamental challenges of survival, students will gain a greater appreciation for the ways in which anthropologists work to study the cultural and biological aspects of humankind within the widest possible context, by employing a mix of theoretical perspectives and methodologies.”

 

Hidden Colors film series tells the real and untold history of people of color around the globe. The series discusses some of the reasons the contributions of African and aboriginal people have been left out of the pages of history.

Selected eJournals from EBSCO eJournal Collection

Remote Access to Library Databases

All library databases linked to are subscription databases. This means that to access them from anywhere outside of a City College building, you will need to log in with your CCC username and password. Note: Enter the username without the @student.ccc.edu ending.

The login page will look like this:

The Research Process

The following links will walk you through the process of doing research once you have settled on a topic from starting your research to search for information in the library's database to evaluating information sources.

1. Starting Your Research

2. Developing Keywords

3. Locating Sources

4. Evaluating Sources

5. Citations and Plagiarism

Using Google Scholar for Research

Google Scholar is a Google platform that allows the user to search for information deemed scholarly from a variety of types of resources including journals, government documents, and websites. When searching, keep in mind that you may come across items that are not accessible in Google Scholar. You can always contact an HWC librarian with the citation information that is available in Google Scholar, and we can help you locate a copy. Remember that whenever you are doing research, and especially when using resources on the open internet, it is important to critically evaluate your sources of information.

This page from the University of Illinois Library provides more information about Google Scholar, its benefits and drawbacks, and how it compares to searching in a library database.