The following databases cover a wide range of issues and serve as good starting places if you are deciding on a topic to write about.
CQ Researcher (CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. The reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked.)
Opposing Viewpoints (Covers timely social issues, such as offshore drilling, climate change, health care, and immigration. Includes information from a variety of sources including academic journals, newspapers, magazines, reference books, radio transcripts, and government sources.)
If you would like to see a full list of the library's subscription databases, check out the alphabetized Complete List of Library Databases or this Subject List of Library Database if you prefer to see them grouped by general subject area.
If you would like to see a full list of the library's subscription databases, check out the alphabetized Complete List of Library Databases or this Subject List of Library Database if you prefer to see them grouped by general subject area.
All library databases linked to are subscription databases. This means that to access them from anywhere outside of a City College building, you will need to log in with your CCC username and password. Note: Enter the username without the @student.ccc.edu ending.
The login page will look like this:
Google Scholar is a Google platform that allows the user to search for information deemed scholarly from a variety of types of resources including journals, government documents, and websites. When searching, keep in mind that you may come across items that are not accessible in Google Scholar. You can always contact an HWC librarian with the citation information that is available in Google Scholar, and we can help you locate a copy. Remember that whenever you are doing research, and especially when using resources on the open internet, it is important to critically evaluate your sources of information.
This page from the University of Illinois Library provides more information about Google Scholar, its benefits and drawbacks, and how it compares to searching in a library database.
The following links will walk you through the process of doing research once you have settled on a topic from starting your research to search for information in the library's database to evaluating information sources.
