Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Speech

This guide provides resources for information pertaining to speech and public speaking.

Reference Resources

Websites 

Depending on the topic for your speech, the library has a variety of reference books to assist you with obtaining information.
Please visit the library's reference desk for assistance.

Alternatively, you can also find reference resources in the following database:

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Database of encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. 

ProCon.org

Pros and cons of controversial issues. Read pro and con arguments for and against topics such as medical marijuana, euthanasia, prostitution, and more.

IDEA: International Debate Education Association

A database of over 400 debate topics. Provides and overview of the issue, pros, and cons, and additional resources to consult. This resource is designed to get you started on a topic, it does not include comprehensive overviews.

Online Databases

NOTE: Remote access to the following databases is restricted to City Colleges of Chicago students, faculty and staff.  To access off campus, log-in with your MyCCC username and password.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Explores both sides of a wide range of important social issues, such as euthanasia, censorship,  gun control, and narcotics. Includes topic overviews, statistics, tables, images, videos, websites, and full-text magazines, academic journals, and news articles.

CQ Researcher

Covers today's current issues and controversial subjects. Browse the database by subject or enter in  your own search query using the quick search feature. Includes pro/con arguments by experts, a chronology, and annotated bibliographies to guide you to additional research.