Celia Perez
Hours
Monday - Thursday
8:00am - 8:00pm
Friday
8:00am - 4:00pm
Contact
hwc-library@ccc.edu
Reference Desk:
(312) 553-5784
Circulation Desk
(312) 553-5760
Start a reference chat session with a librarian by clicking on the ASK US button.
If you find that you require help beyond chat or in-person reference and may need to speak more in depth with a librarian, you can submit a research appointment form. Please allow at least twenty-four (24) hours for a response from a librarian to arrange a meeting either in person, by phone, or via Zoom.
HWC Writing Lab
Room 407A or Zoom
Monday - Thursday
9:00am - 7:00pm
312-553-5699
HWTutoring@ccc.edu
For physical books located at City College Libraries, search the online catalog.
For ebooks, try the EBSCO eBook Collection, the EBSCO Academic eBook Collection or ProQuest eBooks.
For background and introductory information from subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books, try Gale Virtual Reference Library.
For articles from academic journals (scholarly journals / peer-reviewed journals) try Academic Search Complete or JSTOR.
For articles from newspapers, try ProQuest Databases and Newspapers, which includes the Chicago Tribune (1985 - present), Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1998) and the Chicago Defender (1909 - 2010). Also try, the New York Times (you will need to create your own account to access).
If you would like to see a full list of the library's subscription databases, check out the alphabetized Complete List of Library Databases or this Subject List of Library Database if you prefer to see them grouped by general subject area.
The following databases cover a wide range of issues and serve as good starting places if you are deciding on a topic to write about.
CQ Researcher (CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. The reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked.)
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Covers timely social issues, such as offshore drilling, climate change, health care, and immigration. Includes information from a variety of source types including academic journals, newspapers, magazines, reference books, radio transcripts, and government sources.)
If you would like to see a full list of the library's subscription databases, check out the alphabetized Complete List of Library Databases or this Subject List of Library Database if you prefer to see them grouped by general subject area.
Choose a topic that is of personal interest or importance to you.
Browse your local newspaper or a national newspaper (in print or online) to see what kinds of issues are currently in the news.
Browse other news source websites for topic ideas. Some examples include: National Public Radio | Time Magazine | Newsweek | The Atlantic
All library databases linked to are subscription databases. This means that to access them from anywhere outside of a City College building, you will need to log in with your CCC username and password. Note: Enter the username without the @student.ccc.edu ending.
The login page will look like this:
