General database of academic journals in the sciences and humanities. Includes full text scholarly / peer-reviewed articles. This database is a great starting point for general research.
Energy & Power Source is a comprehensive full-text database designed to support the informational needs of the energy and power industries at all levels. This collection provides unmatched full-text coverage of information relevant to many areas integral to the energy and power industries, encompassing all component industries within, including those focused on petroleum, natural gas, electric power, coal, nuclear power, renewable energy, and others.
Applied Artificial Intelligence (AI) to Green Power Technology
by
The aim of this book is to explore the feasible solutions of various issues related to performance of green power technologies with the help of proven artificial intelligence techniques. Issues related to performance, wind energy conversion systems, micro/pico hydropower generation systems, fuel cell systems, and other emerging green power technologies are covered. Also, challenges in distributed energy generating systems and other relevant issues are covered.
Army of Liars
by
Unregulated technology threatens truth, democracy, and humanity itself... Following up on his groundbreaking book Digital is Destroying Everything, Army of Liars now unveils the sinister agenda of an army of liars, the digitally-driven bad actors seeking to destabilize the United States by eroding the very foundations of liberal democracy with a relentless barrage of fabricated narratives and poisonous, digitally promoted disinformation. Pulling no punches, Edwards identifies the culprits: social media platforms protected by Section 230 of the Communications Decency Act, audience targeting, real-time content recommendation, foreign state actors, and radical factions fueled by hate. Today's social media has been weaponized by enemies of the United States and hate and discord are now the currency of thousands of anonymous "content providers." Army of Liars unpacks how we got here, what exactly is wrong with digital enterprise, and how to go about fixing it so that humanity may survive even in an age of artificial intelligence and digital command and control. Should we implement an "engagement tax" on social media platforms and generative AI? These funds could be used to help fight off the worst types of disinformation and to help fund the efforts of content creators whose work has been scraped, stolen, and reconfigured by generative AI and large language models (LLMs). It's a safe bet the tech giants won't want to hear it. Army of Liars is designed to help humans not only survive in a digital age but to conquer digital and prosper in an age of truth in media.
Artificial Intelligence in Health Care
by
The emergence of artificial intelligence (AI) in health care offers unprecedented opportunities to improve patient and clinical team outcomes, reduce costs, and impact population health. While there have been a number of promising examples of AI applications in health care, it is imperative to proceed with caution or risk the potential of user disillusionment, another AI winter, or further exacerbation of existing health- and technology-driven disparities. This Special Publication synthesizes current knowledge to offer a reference document for relevant health care stakeholders. It outlines the current and near-term AI solutions; highlights the challenges, limitations, and best practices for AI development, adoption, and maintenance; offers an overview of the legal and regulatory landscape for AI tools designed for health care application; prioritizes the need for equity, inclusion, and a human rights lens for this work; and outlines key considerations for moving forward.
Artificial Intelligence in the 21st Century
by
This third edition provides a comprehensive, colorful, up-to-date, and accessible presentation of AI without sacrificing theoretical foundations. It includes numerous examples, applications, full color images, and human interest boxes to enhance student interest. New chapters on deep learning, AI security, and AI programming are included. Advanced topics cover neural nets, genetic algorithms, natural language processing, planning, and complex board games.
As If Human
by
A new approach to the challenges surrounding artificial intelligence that argues for assessing AI actions as if they came from a human being "Elegant and erudite."--John Thornhill, Financial Times Intelligent machines present us every day with urgent ethical challenges. Is the facial recognition software used by an agency fair? When algorithms determine questions of justice, finance, health, and defense, are the decisions proportionate, equitable, transparent, and accountable? How do we harness this extraordinary technology to empower rather than oppress? Despite increasingly sophisticated programming, artificial intelligences share none of our essential human characteristics--sentience, physical sensation, emotional responsiveness, versatile general intelligence. However, Nigel Shadbolt and Roger Hampson argue, if we assess AI decisions, products, and calls for action as if they came from a human being, we can avert a disastrous and amoral future. The authors go beyond the headlines about rampant robots to apply established moral principles in shaping our AI future. Their new framework constitutes a how-to for building a more ethical machine intelligence.
Co-Intelligence
by
AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER From Wharton professor and author of the popular One Useful Thing Substack newsletter Ethan Mollick comes the definitive playbook for working, learning, and living in the new age of AI Something new entered our world in November 2022 -- the first general purpose AI that could pass for a human and do the kinds of creative, innovative work that only humans could do previously. Wharton professor Ethan Mollick immediately understood what ChatGPT meant: after millions of years on our own, humans had developed a kind of co-intelligence that could augment, or even replace, human thinking. Through his writing, speaking, and teaching, Mollick has become one of the most prominent and provocative explainers of AI, focusing on the practical aspects of how these new tools for thought can transform our world. In Co-Intelligence, Mollick urges us to engage with AI as co-worker, co-teacher, and coach. He assesses its profound impact on business and education, using dozens of real-time examples of AI in action. Co-Intelligence shows what it means to think and work together with smart machines, and why it's imperative that we master that skill. Mollick challenges us to utilize AI's enormous power without losing our identity, to learn from it without being misled, and to harness its gifts to create a better human future. Wide ranging, hugely thought-provoking, optimistic, and lucid, Co-Intelligence reveals the promise and power of this new era.
Dancing with Robots
by
Survive and thrive in a world being taken over by robots and other advanced technology. Artificial intelligence, machine learning, algorithms, blockchains, the Internet of Things, big data analytics, 5G networks, self-driving cars, robotics, 3D printing. In the coming years, these technologies, and others to follow, will have a profound and dramatically disruptive impact on how we work and live. Whether we like it or not, we need to develop a good working relationship with these technologies. We need to know how to "dance" with robots. In Dancing with Robots, futurist, entrepreneur, and innovation coach Bill Bishop describes 29 strategies for success in the New Economy. These new strategies represent a bold, exciting, unexpected, and radically different road map for future success. Bishop also explains how our Five Human Superpowers -- embodied pattern recognition, unbridled curiosity, purpose-driven ideation, ethical framing, and metaphoric communication -- give us a competitive edge over robots and other advanced technology in a world being taken over by automation and AI.
Environmental Monitoring Using Artificial Intelligence
by
Environmental Monitoring Using Artificial Intelligence is a vital resource for anyone looking to leverage cutting-edge technologies in artificial intelligence and sensor systems to effectively address environmental challenges, offering innovative solutions and insights essential for creating a sustainable future
Faik
by
Learn to navigate a world of deepfakes, phishing attacks, and other cybersecurity threats emanating from generative artificial intelligence In an era where artificial intelligence can create content indistinguishable from reality, how do we separate truth from fiction? In FAIK: A Practical Guide to Living in a World of Deepfakes, Disinformation, and AI-Generated Deceptions, cybersecurity and deception expert Perry Carpenter unveils the hidden dangers of generative artificial intelligence, showing you how to use these technologies safely while protecting yourself and others from cyber scams and threats. Written by an expert, yet accessible to everyone, FAIK is an indispensable resource for anyone who uses technology and wants to stay secure in the evolving digital landscape. This book not only prepares you to face the onslaught of digital deceptions and AI-generated threats, but also teaches you to think like a hacker to better defend against them.
Generative Artificial Intelligence in Finance
by
This comprehensive volume delves deep into the diverse applications and implications of generative AI across accounting, finance, economics, business, and management, providing readers with a holistic understanding of this rapidly evolving landscape. Generative Artificial Intelligence in Finance: Large Language Models, Interfaces, and Industry Use Cases to Transform Accounting and Finance Processes provides a comprehensive guide to ethically harnessing generative AI systems to reshape financial management.
Guardrails
by
When we make decisions, our thinking is informed by societal norms, "guardrails" that guide our decisions, like the laws and rules that govern us. But what are good guardrails in today's world of overwhelming information flows and increasingly powerful technologies, such as artificial intelligence? Based on the latest insights from the cognitive sciences, economics, and public policy, Guardrails shows how the quick embrace of technological solutions can lead to results we don't always want, and explains how society itself can provide guardrails more suited to the digital age, ones that empower individual choice while accounting for the social good, encourage flexibility in the face of changing circumstances, and ultimately help us to make better decisions as we tackle the most daunting problems of our times, such as global injustice and climate change.
Using Generative AI Effectively in Higher Education
by
Using Generative AI Effectively in Higher Education explores how higher education providers can realise their role and responsibility in harnessing the power of generative artificial intelligence (GenAI) ethically and sustainably. This rich collection of established and evaluated practices from across global higher education offers a practical guide to leading an agile institutional response to emerging technologies, building critical digital literacy across an entire institution, and embedding the ethical and sustainable use of GenAI in teaching, learning, and assessment. Including reflections from stakeholders testifying to the value of the approaches outlined, the book examines how higher education can equip staff and students with the critical-digital literacy necessary to use GenAI in work, study, and social life responsibly and with integrity. It provides an evidence-based resource for any kind of higher education (HE) provider (modern, college-based, and research-focused) looking for inspiration and approaches which can build GenAI capability and includes chapters on the development of cross-institutional strategy, policies and processes, pedagogic practices, and critical-digital literacy. This resource will be invaluable to educational leaders, educational developers, learning developers, learning technologists, course administrators, quality assurance staff, and HE teachers wishing to embrace and adapt to a GenAI-enabled world.
