LibGuides: Bio 116 Research Guide: Ortiz

Welcome to the Library

Hello Everyone,

This guide brings together the library resources for English 102. If you have any questions about accessing or evaluating these resources, please contact the library. It's our job to help you! :) You can sign up for a research consultation with a librarian. You can also chat with a librarian by using the chat box on this page or in the library catalog and databases.

Thanks,
Katie Ediger, Truman College Library Department Chair

English 102 Library Presentation

Keyword Video

Starting Your Research

The search box below links to the library catalog and is a great place to start your research. This search will include physical items like books, and digital items like eBooks and articles. You may be prompted to login with your CCC username and password.

Exploring Databases

Library Databases A-Z

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Covers hottest social issues, such as offshore drilling, climate change, health care, and immigration. Has full text, editor selected articles. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of information for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

Newspapers

Chicago Tribune (1985-current)

Full text coverage from today's news and historical coverage back to 1985.
Proquest Databases and Newspapers

A list of ProQuest databases subscribed to by CCC.
ProQuest Newsstream (1980 - current)
ProQuest Newsstream offers recent U.S. news content going back to 1980.

New York Times Website and App
Follow the directions on this guide to sign up for a free New York Times account!

Search Within Specific Publications

Publication Finder

Search CCC library electronic publications by title, subject or ISSN/ISBN and also browse publications by discipline.

The Atlantic
Features articles for the general reader, reports & comments on recent events in history, humor, fiction, poetry, arts & leisure, & book reviews.
Mother Jones
Presents articles dealing with national news, investigative reporting, commentary, the arts as well as articles on health, the environment and book reviews.
The Nation
A journal of politics, economics, education, foreign policy, labor, law and other social issues, literature and the arts.
New York Times
Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary; published in a national and a New York metropolitan edition. Includes local, and state news, science, sports, arts and entertainment, and business and finance news
New York Times Magazine
A weekly Sunday magazine featuring news on fashion, current events, politics, language, business, entertainment, and food, with occasional special issues on specific topics.
Time Magazine
National and international news, behavior, books, business, cinema, law, education, environment, modern living, music, nation, press, religion, theater, video and world.
Washington Post
Major U.S. newspaper covering local, national, and world news.

Bio 116 Research Guide

Truman Library Chat

Truman College Librarian