Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Government Documents & Information: Resources by Topic

Military and Government

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications from the U.S. Government Publishing Office Image result for seal of the united states

Compilation of Presidential Documents (1993-present)

Congress.gov Legislation Search

EveryCRSReport.com publishes "reports by ... the Congressional Research Service, which provides insight and non-partisan analysis of issues of public debate."

Military and Government Collection database (requires your CCC login for access)

Supreme Court of the United States: Opinions, press releases, journals, transcripts, and more

U.S. Government Accountability Office - Browse by topic 

Search for U.S. Government Publications in the Statewide Illinois Library Catalog (requires your CCC login for access)

Agriculture, Food, Plants and Animals, Environment

Image result for image search green plantThe National Agricultural Library, under the United States Department of Agriculture, contains a wide range of information. Topics include nutrient data for foods, obesity prevention, invasive species, climate change, archival materials, and much more. 

Economics

business, cash, coinsThe Congressional Budget Office (CBO) is a non-partisan agency which provides Congress with independent analysis of budget and economic issues for decision making. 

Education

Image result for image search bookERIC, from the U.S. Department of Education, contains reports and studies from the Educational Research Information Center (requires your CCC login for access). 

The National Center for Education Statistics provides searchable data sets and tools for researching aspects of education in the U.S., and internationally.  

Health, Medicine, and Life Sciences

Image result for image search medicalPubMed "comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites." 

Science, Technology, and Engineering

Image result for image search scienceThe National Geologic Map Database contains "geoscience information for the nation," held in maps, charts, and other documents and data. 
 

OSTI.GOV is the search tool for information on science, technology, and engineering research and development funded by the U.S. Department of Energy Office, provided through the DOE's Office of Scientific and Technical Information.

Transportation

Image result for image search map pinThe National Transportation Library provides full-text research, reports, and datasets collected by the U.S. Department of Transportation Bureau of Transportation Statistics.