LibGuides: Psychology Research : Electronic Library Resources

Using Subscription Databases

Our database subscriptions allow for access to copyrighted content including academic journals, eBooks, magazines, newspapers, etc. Not every database can be used to answer every research question. We do not currently have a database devoted to psychological research, so include "psychology" in your search terms to get relevant results.

On campus we are logged in automatically. Off-campus, you need to log in with your CCC credentials.
Use keywords in combination to get the most relevant results
- schizophrenia AND psychology
- post-traumatic stress disorder AND psychology
- bulimia AND teenagers AND psychology
Generally, the databases will look in the title, abstract, and subject terms (these are standardized tags that describe the topics discussed) to provide results. Avoid words like what, in, the, how, etc.
Select peer-reviewed to limit to scholarly articles.
Many databases provide full-text access as well as abstract-only access. Always click full-text if given the option!
Change the date range to get more recent results.

Subscription Databases: Journal Articles and eBooks

DSM-5 Library This link opens in a new window
The DSM-5 Library includes the latest edition of the DSM-5, DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clincal Cases, Spanish Edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM-5, and DSM-5 Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
General database of academic journals in the sciences and humanities. Includes full text scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Proquest Databases and Newspapers This link opens in a new window
ProQuest databases include multidisciplinary scholarly journals, eBooks, newspaper & magazine articles, and more.
eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Titles from university presses around the world covering a broad range of topics, including technology, science, literature, and humanities.
Springer eBooks This link opens in a new window
Includes journal articles, reference works, and scholarly books.
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text access to nearly 80 consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Harvard Health Letter, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, and Vegetarian Times. Also included in this database is searchable full text for current health-related pamphlets and more than 100 full-text health reference books.
Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
The database covers gender inequality, masculinity, postfeminism, gender identity, and other topics related to gender studies.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Family & Society Studies Worldwide™ is a core resource providing the most comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare.