Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Wilbur Wright College Library Collection Development

Institutional Archives Policy

Goals of the College Archives

  • Collect, preserve, and protect materials related to the history of the College
  • This collection is intended to be the official institutional memory of the college and illustrates the ways in which the college has evolved.
  • The institutional archives includes materials of historical significance, including records of enduring value, photographs, student publications, bulletins, program materials, and other artifacts relating to the College.

Donations/Gifts Policy

Donations and gifts are gratefully and willingly accepted as long as no restriction is placed upon their use and disposition. Acceptance of gifts will be determined by library staff on the basis of their suitability to the goals of the institutional archives. The library reserves the right to discard any gifts that are in poor physical condition (e.g. brittle paper, water or mildew damage, torn and/or missing pages) or that do not meet the needs of the library or college curriculum.

Values will not be placed on donated items for income tax purposes, but a statement acknowledging the donation may be provided upon request.

Individuals wishing to donate materials related to the history of Wright College, are asked to call the library at 773-481-8400 to speak with someone about the donation.

Included in the archives are:

  1. Copies of any minutes, meetings, or reports of any committee or division pertinent to the history of the college.
  2. Significant publications of the college (For example – catalogs, self-study reports, faculty and adjunct faculty handbooks, policy manuals, administrative manuals, official newsletters, student newspapers, commencement programs, and annuals).
  3. External documents which pertain to the college (For example –  curriculum guides, accreditation guidelines, and policy manuals).
  4. Newspaper articles specifically about the college or the professional activities of college personnel.