Need help using Encore, the library search tool? Here's a step-by-step guide!
Need a book right now? Try an eBook!
Advocacy and Public Speaking by
This book is intended to give practical advice to anyone embarking upon a career involving advocacy or public speaking. The authors' extensive experience informs topics such as speaking in public, preparing a case for court, examination in chief, ethics and professional conduct and alternative dispute resolution.
The Book on Public Speaking by
"One of the most powerful professional speakers in America . . . reveals how he's earned millions onstage, on camera and in business" (Steve Siebold, CSP, past chairman of The National Speakers Association's Million Dollar Speakers Group). If you look at the trends of over thirty years ago in fashion, technology, architecture, and any other industry, what was cutting edge back then has become cliché and grossly out of date now. But in the speaking industry, most people get up and still walk, talk, and sound like the 1980s motivational speakers of yesteryear. The Book on Public Speaking takes a head-on approach and challenges the status quo for business leaders that speak in front of their staff, board of directors, and the public. After reading this book you will be privy to the most current methods for speaking to an audience for maximum impact in today's more sophisticated and skeptical culture. If you are the type of business leader who has achieved a level of success in life and feel compelled to share your story with the world, don't lessen that impact by imitating outdated speaking techniques. Instead, break the mold of the speaker cliché and tap into a speaking style that is authentic, packs a punch, and leaves the audience wanting more. "I learned some amazing presentation techniques from Topher. I'm using them right now. They're awesome. You can't tell because you're reading this." --John Heffron, winner of The Last Comic Standing "Morrison is crazy good at training you how to communicate on-camera so that your business gets more attention." --James Lavers, professional speaker, founder, "Selling from the Screen"
Public Speaking by
A perfectly delivered speech is something that takes time, practice, and knowledge. This guide is teeming with resources, whether you are looking to get over your fear of speaking to a group of people or are running for student assembly and need an edge on your competition. You will discover how to overcome stage fright by being prepared, rehearsed, and ready for a number of unforeseen circumstances. You will learn how to write a memorable speech and how to impact and persuade your audience. You will learn how to gauge your audience's reaction and tailor the remainder of your presentation to have maximum appeal to the group you are speaking to.
Public Speaking to Win by
The Unparalleled Classic on Speaking With Confidence and Power - In a Special Condensed Edition Here is Dale Carnegie's master class on how to speak so that people listen, available in a compact forty minutes. If you want to deliver effective sales presentations, influence clients and customers, and speak persuasively on any topic, Public Speaking to Win! is your key to success. You will discover: What REALLY grabs your listeners' attention. How to establish intimacy with your audience. How to win people's confidence. The one vital ingredient to a powerful talk. How to speak in a natural, easygoing manner. How to open and close your talk. How to move your listeners to action. Abridged and introduced by PEN Award-winning historian Mitch Horowitz, Public Speaking to Win! provides the full insight of Dale Carnegie's original guidebook, in one concise, unforgettable lesson.
Invitation to Public Speaking - National Geographic Edition by
Griffin's INVITATION TO PUBLIC SPEAKING, 6th Edition, equips you with solid public speaking skills that will serve you well in your college coursework and far beyond. This text illustrates the power and importance of public speaking in your life as well as in the community. Featuring spectacular photographs, this edition also includes dynamic stories and tips from NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC researchers, scientists, artists, and activists who speak to groups of all sizes and ages. In addition, sample student speeches, speech-building exercises, and step-by-step explanations thoroughly prepare you for speaking in class, at public gatherings, and -- ultimately -- throughout your career.
Better Business Speech by
In a business world where we are told that time is money, the real currency is communicating clearly at a poised and measured pace. Better Business Speech: Techniques, Tricks, and Shortcuts for Public Speaking at Work by Paul Geiger focuses on the challenges of being a strong communicator in a range of business settings. It begins with the basic premise that all speaking for business is public speaking. Therefore, these are the communication scenarios where any lack of confidence in speech ability will be magnified. The obstacles that stand in the way of successful meetings, presentations, networking events, job interviews, and sales calls are all clearly described. Seasoned speech coach Paul Geiger offers tricks, techniques, and shortcuts that all seem shockingly simple; but it is the retraining of the mind and body that is the hard part. He details practical daily exercises that lead to better speech habits and addresses the causes of ineffective speech pattern in both personal and business settings. The physical and mental aspects of speech are explored in the context of forming a strong speech technique foundation that never loses sight of the importance of always sounding authentic. By offering action steps and helpful online tutorials, Geiger provides readers with the tools necessary to make lasting changes that will enhance speaking skills in all facets of business life.
A Pocket Guide to Public Speaking by
This best-selling brief introduction to public speaking offers practical coverage of every topic typically covered in a full-sized text, from invention, research and organization, practice and delivery, to the different speech types. Its concise, inexpensive format makes it perfect not only for the public speaking course, but also for any setting across the curriculum, on the job, or in the community. This newly redesigned full-color edition offers even stronger coverage of the fundamentals of speechmaking, while also addressing the changing realities of public speaking in a digital world. It features fully updated chapters on online presentations and using presentation software, and a streamlined chapter on research in print and online. The fifth edition also includes new sample informative, persuasive, and special occasion speeches, along with a collection of speech videos in the book's online component, LaunchPad Solo.
Public Speaking Skills for Dummies by
Project self-assurance when speaking--even if you don't feel confident! When you speak in public, your reputation is at stake. Whether you're speaking at a conference, pitching for new business, or presenting to your Executive Board, the ability to connect with, influence, and inspire your audience is a critically important skill. Public Speaking Skills For Dummies introduces you to simple, practical, and real-world techniques and insights that will transform your ability to achieve impact through the spoken word. In this book, champion of public speaking Alyson Connolly takes you step by step through the process of conceiving, crafting, and delivering a high-impact presentation. You'll discover how to overcome your nerves, engage your audience, and convey gravitas--all while getting your message across clearly and concisely. * Bring ideas to life through business storytelling * Use space and achieve an even greater sense of poise * Get your message across with greater clarity, concision, and impact * Deal more effectively with awkward questions Get ready to win over hearts and minds --and deliver the talk of your life!
Clashing Views on Political Issues by
The Taking Sides Collection on McGraw-Hill Create(tm) includes current controversial issues in a debate-style format designed to stimulate student interest and develop critical thinking skills. This Collection contains a multitude of current and classic issues to enhance and customize your course. You can browse the entire Taking Sides Collection on Create, or you can search by topic, author, or keywords. Each Taking Sides issues is thoughtfully framed with Learning Outcomes, an Issue Summary, an Introduction, and an Exploring the Issue section featuring Critical Thinking and Reflection, Is There Common Ground?, and Additional Resources and Internet References. Go to McGraw-Hill Create(tm) at www.mcgrawhillcreate.com, click on the "Collections" tab, and select The Taking Sides Collection to browse the entire Collection. Select individual Taking Sides issues to enhance your course, or access and select the entire Miller: Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Political Issues, 19/e Expanded ExpressBook for an easy, pre-built teaching resource by clicking here. An online Instructor's Resource Guide with testing material is available for each Taking Sides volume. Using Taking Sides in the Classroom is also an excellent instructor resource. Visit the Create Central Online Learning Center at www.mhhe.com/createcentral for more details.
Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Gender by
The Taking Sides Collection on McGraw-Hill Create(tm) includes current controversial issues in a debate-style format designed to stimulate student interest and develop critical thinking skills. This Collection contains a multitude of current and classic issues to enhance and customize your course. You can browse the entire Taking Sides Collection on Create, or you can search by topic, author, or keywords. Each Taking Sides issues is thoughtfully framed with Learning Outcomes, an Issue Summary, an Introduction, and an Exploring the Issue section featuring Critical Thinking and Reflection, Is There Common Ground?, and Additional Resources and Internet References. Go to McGraw-Hill Create(tm) at www.mcgrawhillcreate.com, click on the "Collections" tab, and select The Taking Sides Collection to browse the entire Collection. Select individual Taking Sides issues to enhance your course, or access and select the entire Schroeder: Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Gender, 7/e ExpressBook for an easy, pre-built teaching resource by clicking here..
Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Educational Issues by
The Taking Sides Collection on McGraw-Hill Create® includes current controversial issues in a debate-style format designed to stimulate student interest and develop critical thinking skills. This Collection contains a multitude of current and classic issues to enhance and customize your course. You can browse the entire Taking Sides Collection on Create or you can search by topic, author, or keywords. Each Taking Sides issue is thoughtfully framed with Learning Outcomes, an Issue Summary, an Introduction, and an "Exploring the Issue" section featuring Critical Thinking and Reflection, Is There Common Ground?, Additional Resources, and Internet References. Go to the Taking Sides Collection on McGraw-Hill Create® at www.mcgrawhillcreate.com/takingsides and click on "Explore this Collection" to browse the entire Collection. Select individual Taking Sides issues to enhance your course, or access and select the entire Koonce: Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Educational Issues, 19/e book here http://create.mheducation.com/createonline/index.html#qlink=search%2Ftext%3Disbn:1259883221 for an easy, pre-built teaching resource. Visit http://create.mheducation.com for more information on other McGraw-Hill titles and special collections.
Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Environmental Issues by
The Taking Sides Collection on McGraw-Hill Create® includes current controversial issues in a debate-style format designed to stimulate student interest and develop critical thinking skills. This Collection contains a multitude of current and classic issues to enhance and customize your course. You can browse the entire Taking Sides Collection on Create or you can search by topic, author, or keywords. Each Taking Sides issue is thoughtfully framed with Learning Outcomes, an Issue Summary, an Introduction, and an "Exploring the Issue" section featuring Critical Thinking and Reflection, Is There Common Ground?, Additional Resources, and Internet References. Go to the Taking Sides Collection on McGraw-Hill Create® at www.mcgrawhillcreate.com/takingsides and click on "Explore this Collection" to browse the entire Collection. Select individual Taking Sides issues to enhance your course, or access and select the entire Easton: Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Environmental Issues, 17/e book here http://create.mheducation.com/createonline/index.html#qlink=search%2Ftext%3Disbn:1259853357 for an easy, pre-built teaching resource. Visit http://create.mheducation.com for more information on other McGraw-Hill titles and special collections.
Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Mass Media and Society by
Taking Sides volumes present current controversial issues in a debate-style format designed to stimulate student interest and develop critical thinking skills. Each issue is thoughtfully framed with Learning Outcomes, an Issue Summary, an Introduction, and an Exploring the Issue section featuring Critical Thinking and Reflection, Is There Common Ground?, and Additional Resources. Taking Sides readers also offer a Topic Guide and an annotated listing of Internet References for further consideration of the issues. An online Instructor’s Resource Guide with testing material is available for each volume. Using Taking Sides in the Classroom is also an excellent instructor resource. Visit www.mhhe.com/takingsides for more details.