HUM 144: Introduction to Women’s and Gender Studies - Yolanda Falls, instructor: Home

The HWC Library is open:

Mon. - Thurs.: 8AM - 8PM

Friday: 8AM - 4PM

Chat Reference:

Mon. - Sun.: 10AM - 10PM

Placed a hold on a book and not sure if it is ready? Check your student email account for a notification or call 312-553-5760. 

Visit the Harold Washington College Library's Homepage

Start a reference chat session with a librarian by clicking on the ASK US button.

If you find that you require help beyond chat reference and may need to speak with a librarian, you can submit a research assistance request form. A librarian will be in touch with you to schedule a Zoom meeting or, if possible, a phone call.

The Purdue Online Writing Lab provides information about APA style citations (both in-text citations and reference list citations) and of APA style paper formatting.

What is scholarly? What is popular? What's the difference?

Starting Your Podcast: A Guide for Students (NPR)

A Studio At Your Fingertips (NPR)

Podcast Library (American Anthropological Association)

How To Record A Podcast (The Podcast Host)

• For physical books located at City College Libraries, search the online catalog. 

• For ebooks, search the EBSCO eBook Collection. 

• For information from subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books, search Gale eBooks and Sage Social Science eReference.

• For articles from academic journals, magazines, and newspapers search Academic Search Complete, ProQuest, and JSTOR. Subject themed databases include:

  • Gender Studies
  • Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
  • Family & Society Studies Worldwide

• For social issues, contemporary and controversial topics, search Opposing Viewpoints or CQ Researcher. Examples of topics in Opposing Viewpoints include Birth Control, Body Image, Gender Identity, LGBTQ+ Marriage Equality, Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls, Sex Education, Sexual Harassment, Women in Combat, and Work and Family.

• For popular magazines, selected magazine titles include:
  • The Advocate
  • Bitch Magazine: Feminist Response to Pop Culture
  • CuerpoMente
  • Essence
  • Parents
  • Out
  • Vogue

• Academic Video Online (AVON) from Alexander Street offers a variety of documentaries and academic videos for streaming. Selected channels include:

  • Women's and Gender Studies Video Online
  • Feminist Theory
  • LGBT Studies
  • Family and Culture
  • Fashion Studies

• Swank and Kanopy are additional video databases.

Check out the alphabetized Full List of Library Databases . 

• Course Textbook: 

  • Kang, Lessard, Heston, and Nordmarken: Introduction to Women, Gender, Sexuality Studies, 2017 - ebook

• Supplemental Textbooks:

  • Janetta Rebold Benton and Robert DiYanni: Arts and Culture: an Introduction to the Humanities, 2012
  • Philip E. Bishop: A Beginner's Guide to the Humanities, 2010
  • Phyllis Rauch Klotman, editor: Humanities through the Black Experience, 1977
  • Christie Launius and Holly Hassel: Threshold Concepts in Women's and Gender Studies: Ways of Seeing, Thinking, and Knowing, 2018
  • Michiel Leezenberg: History and Philosophy of the Humanities: An Introduction, 2019 - ebook

  • Roy T. Matthews and F. DeWitt Platt: Experience Humanities, 2014

  • Saraswati, Shaw, and Rellihan: Introduction to Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies, 2021
  • Dennis J. Sporre: Perceiving the Arts: an Introduction to the Humanities, 2015

What are Chatbots?

“A chatbot is a form of artificial intelligence (AI) software that is capable of simulating a conversation with a human user through the Internet or over the telephone … chatbots are programmed to answer messages sent by human users and supply an appropriate response.”

Lasky, J. (2023). Chatbot. Salem Press Encyclopedia of Science.

Chatbot examples:

• ChatGPT by OpenAI, https://chat.openai.com/
• Bard by Google, https://bard.google.com/
• Bing by Microsoft, https://www.bing.com/
• Alexa by Amazon, Alexa app

An Extensive Research Guide on Chatbots and Academic Education from the Center for Innovative Teaching and Learning, Center for Innovative Teaching and Learning, Northern Illinois University, https://www.niu.edu/citl/resources/guides/chatgpt-and-education.shtml#privacy

Research Guide on Artificial Intelligence and Library Research by librarian Katie Ediger, Truman College, City Colleges Chicago, https://researchguides.ccc.edu/htai

Tips include: create a study space, have consistent study routines, know the course syllabi, study with others, celebrate your achievements, and ask for help.

• Tips for Learning Online from Stanford University, a top ranked, research university, https://scpd.stanford.edu/tips-learning-online
• Strategies for Success for Online Learners from Alamo Colleges, the community college system in San Antonio, TX, https://www.alamo.edu/sac/academics/distance-learning/strategies-for-success/
• Ten Tips for Setting Yourself Up for Success in Your Online Class: A Guide for College Students by Dr. Linda Dale Bloomberg, 2020, for Sage, an academic publisher, https://us.sagepub.com/en-us/nam/setting-yourself-up-for-success-in-your-online-class
• 11 Good Study Habits to Develop, updated 2023, by Coursera, a leader in online education, https://www.coursera.org/articles/study-habits

All library databases linked to are subscription databases. This means that to access them from anywhere outside of a City College building, you will need to log in with your CCC username and password. Note: Enter the username without the @student.ccc.edu ending.

The login page will look like this:

The following links will walk you through the process of doing research once you have settled on a topic from starting your research to search for information in the library's database to evaluating information sources.

1. Starting Your Research

2. Developing Keywords

3. Locating Sources

4. Evaluating Sources

5. Citations and Plagiarism

Google Scholar is a Google platform that allows the user to search for information deemed scholarly from a variety of types of resources including journals, government documents, and websites. When searching, keep in mind that you may come across items that are not accessible in Google Scholar. You can always contact an HWC librarian with the citation information that is available in Google Scholar, and we can help you locate a copy. Remember that whenever you are doing research, and especially when using resources on the open internet, it is important to critically evaluate your sources of information.

This page from the University of Illinois Library provides more information about Google Scholar, its benefits and drawbacks, and how it compares to searching in a library database.