Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Electronic resources to help you succeed:
Testing and Education Reference Center (Gale)
This resource offers ebooks on the latest high school, college and graduate entrance exams, as well as practice tests. Note: you will be asked to create a personal profile so that you can track your progress.
Virtual Reference Library (Gale)
This database contains encyclopedia articles and other tools that provide background information on a wide range of subjects.
English Language Learner (EBSCO)
A resource for students who are new to the English language; topics including literacy, researching, note-taking and academic writing.
Try these resources if you are new to using computers:
Basic Online Skills
A short, easy-to-master, web based course on basic online skills created by the Connecticut Distance Learning Consortium.
If you are new to computers or just want to update your computer skills, this free Computer Basics tutorial by GCFLearnFree.org will show you how.
Keyboard and Mouse Basics
Tips and exercises to get you started using the keyboard and mouse by the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library.
Community College Transfer Guide by
Call Number: LB2360 .S53 2009
Publication Date: 2009-04-01
This is the only book of its kind. The Community College Transfer Guide spells out step by step what every college and high school student needs to know and do to transfer to a four-year college or university.
How to Get Money for College 2016 by
Call Number: Reference LB2337.4 .P48 2015
Publication Date: 2015-08-18
How to Get Money for College is a great resource for anyone looking to supplement his or her federal financial aid package with aid from colleges and universities. This comprehensive directory points you to complete and accurate information on need-based and non-need gift aid, loans, work-study, athletic awards, and more. The unique and easy-to-use Colleges-at-a-Glance comparison chart lists the full costs that can be expected, aid packages, and more for each of more than 2,500 four-year colleges and universities, organized by state.
Profiles of American Colleges 2017 by
Call Number: L901 .B323 2016
Publication Date: 2016-07-01
This college directory offers comparative college ratings. The book contains an Index of College Majors, an extended chart that lists all available major study programs at every school. In addition to colleges and universities in the United States, the directory profiles many colleges in Canada, as well as brief profiles of religious colleges and American colleges based in foreign countries. All colleges in the directory are rated according to Barron's competitiveness scale, which ranges from "Noncompetitive" to "Most Competitive."
College Blue Book by
Call Number: Reference LA226 .C685 2013
Publication Date: 2013-02-01
The College Blue Book is a comprehensive guide covering nearly 12,000 institutions of higher learning, occupational and technical schools, and distance learning programs. The College Blue Book also features information on obtaining financial assistance for pursuing postsecondary education.
Library books and ebooks
Coping with College by
Call Number: LB2343.3 .H36 2007
Publication Date: 2006-03-24
Brief enough to fit a busy schedule, this valuable guide offers a wealth of practical suggestions for achieving personal and academic success in college. Based on research and student interviews, it offers powerful strategies that can be used immediately to overcome procrastination, minimize study disruptions, meet deadlines, develop vocabulary, overcome test anxiety and more. This revision retains its action-oriented, quick-access style, while including new material on critical thinking, listening, classroom etiquette, and reading comprehension. New end-of-chapter enrichment activities and models for goal setting and writing composition make this text an essential ingredient for anyone striving to improve academic performance and success.
Study Skills for Speakers of English As a Second Language by
Call Number: LB2395 .L49 2003
Publication Date: 2003-07-29
Starting at any university is a major step in life. Students who speak English as a second language, studying in a new country, are taking an even bigger step. Based on interviews with international students and their teachers, this book offers straightforward advice on academic topics such as language use, as well as social topics and the culture of Western universities. It also contains a helpful mini-dictionary of university words, and so will be an ideal guide for any international student studying in an English-speaking university.
Make It Stick by
Publication Date: 2014-04-14
To most of us, learning something "the hard way" implies wasted time and effort. Good teaching, we believe, should be creatively tailored to the different learning styles of students and should use strategies that make learning easier. Make It Stick turns fashionable ideas like these on their head. Drawing on recent discoveries in cognitive psychology and other disciplines, the authors offer concrete techniques for becoming more productive learners. Memory plays a central role in our ability to carry out complex cognitive tasks, such as applying knowledge to problems never before encountered and drawing inferences from facts already known. New insights into how memory is encoded, consolidated, and later retrieved have led to a better understanding of how we learn. Grappling with the impediments that make learning challenging leads both to more complex mastery and better retention of what was learned. Many common study habits and practice routines turn out to be counterproductive. Underlining and highlighting, rereading, cramming, and single-minded repetition of new skills create the illusion of mastery, but gains fade quickly. More complex and durable learning come from self-testing, introducing certain difficulties in practice, waiting to re-study new material until a little forgetting has set in, and interleaving the practice of one skill or topic with another. Speaking most urgently to students, teachers, trainers, and athletes, Make It Stick will appeal to all those interested in the challenge of lifelong learning and self-improvement.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
The OOH can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.
O*NET OnLine has detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, researchers, and more!
New Guide for Occupational Exploration, Fourth Edition by
Call Number: Reference HF5382.5.U5 F37 2006
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
The New Guide for Occupational Exploration gives you a feel for specific careers and whether they match your interests. It begins by asking you to identify your interest level in 16 Interest Areas. You then examine Work Groups of jobs within the cluster to identify types of careers that interest you most. Finally, specific jobs are listed within those Work Groups. The process is simple, and after you narrow down your options, you are provided with loads of information for each Work Group to help you decide which jobs to explore in more detail. Book jacket.
Green Collar Jobs by
Call Number: GE60 .D45 2010
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
This is a comprehensive yet practical guide for job seekers looking for green career opportunities. * Provides original insights and advice from professionals in green career fields * Includes web addresses for associations, discussion groups, job boards, and companies in each chapter * Lists relevant job sites and online references
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance by
Call Number: Reference HF5381.E52 2008
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
Now in its 14th edition, this comprehensive career reference contains career information on 93 industries, including details of salaries, employment trends, on-the-job interviews, industry jargon, and additional reading on industry issues and history.
Harold Washington College Student Resources
The Writing Lab provides tutoring support in writing specifically, or provides students with the opportunity to make an appointment with their classroom tutor.
Tutoring Services supports student success through peer, professional, and embedded tutoring. Specialized tutoring is available for the Arts, Math, Science, etc. List specific resources/locations per discipline.
The Harold Washington College Wellness Center provides mental health and other social services to support your personal well-being and academic success.
The Chicago Legal Clinic works directly with students to identify their legal needs and provide community based quality services.