Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HWC Newsletter: April 2022: Home

Harold Washington College Library Newsletter * April 2022

Harold Washington College Library Newsletter * April 2022

April 3 - April 9 is National Library Week, "an annual celebration highlighting the valuable role libraries, librarians, and library workers play in transforming lives and strengthening our communities."* The HWC Library is your college resource for a variety of needs: research assistance, accessing course textbooks, finding books for research or for leisure reading, a quiet space to study, and much more. We are located on the 5th floor of the College. Our spring semester hours of operation are Monday / Tuesday from 8AM to 8PMWednesday / Thursday from 8AM to 6PM, and Friday from 8AM to 4PM. We look forward to seeing you!

*Source: National Library Week 2022: Connect With Your Library

Chat Reference Hours

Librarians are available via chat Monday through Sunday from 10 am to 10 pm. The chat box feature will open on the lower right corner of any library page including the main CCC Libraries information page.

 

Screen capture of the CCC Libraries Homepage with links to the individual campus libraries.

 

On the HWC Library homepage, you can also chat with a librarian by clicking on the blue "Chat With A Librarian" button on the left side of the page.

Featured Database: Literature Resource Center

Search page for the Literature Resource Center database.

Literature Resource Center includes full text articles, critical essays, biographies, reviews and other works from scholarly journals and literary magazines concerning authors, their works, and literary movements. This database can be found, along with all of the library's databases, on the Library's Full List of Databases. Remember that to access remotely, you will need to log in with your CCC username (do not include the @student.ccc.edu part) and password.

New Print Serials

The library is now subscribing to the following titles in print:

Chicago Daily Law Bulletin

Crain's Chicago Business

Facts & Findings: Official Publication of the National Association of Legal Assistants Inc.

National Paralegal Reporter

These publications are available in the Library in the Paralegal Program Collection. For access to other magazines, visit the Flipster database, part of the library's collection of online databases. Access the most current issue, as well as back issues, of popular magazines including VogueTimeThe New Yorker, National GeographicSports Illustrated, and more. Download the Flipster app to access the CCC subscriptions from your phone or other device. Remember that to access remotely, you will need to log in with your CCC username (do not include the @student.ccc.edu part) and password.

How Do YOU Use the Library?

For studying? For drawing? For frittering? The library is a space that welcomes and fosters a variety of activities and experiences. We love to hear how the HWC community uses the library. Drop us a line and share!

100 Years of Harold Washington

This year marks the 100th birthday of the College's namesake, Mayor Harold Washington. Come by the Library to see our display of books about Mayor Washington, and learn more about him here.

Pop-Up Library

The Library is popping-up around the College! On April 6, we launched our Pop-Up Library project on the second floor near the atrium seating area. Keep an eye out for announcements of future appearances around the College. 

Remote Classes in the Library - Spring 2022 Policy

In order to maintain a shared space that is conducive to quiet study, but that also accommodates the needs of students attending remote classes in the library, we ask that visitors read and follow the current policy for attending remote classes (classes on Zoom) while in the library space.

Library Request Forms

Schedule Library Instruction (for HWC faculty)

Schedule A Research Consultation (for all HWC community)

Suggest A Purchase (for all HWC community)

Request an Interlibrary Loan (for all HWC community)

Upcoming Events

Join us on the last Friday of each month at 1:00 PM in 501K for Movies in the Library. On April 29th we will screen:

Movie poster for BaddDDD Sonia Sanchez

"This film offers unprecedented access to the life, work and mesmerizing performances of renowned poet and activist Sonia Sanchez who describes herself as "a woman with razor blades between my teeth." A leading figure in the Black Arts Movement and inspiration to today's hip hop spoken word artists, Sanchez for over 60 years has helped to redefine American culture and politics as an activist in the Black, women's and peace movements.

Maya Angelou called Sanchez "a lion in literature's forest" while spoken word artist Bryonn Bain credits her with paving the way for his generation, 'She not only opened the door, she blew off the roof.' Sanchez revolutionized poetry by incorporating street language, a unique performance style and collaborations with jazz musicians."  [Description from Kanopy]

Running Time: 92 mins.

March (Book) Madness Results

           

Last month we celebrated March Madness and Women's History Month with a "Sweet 16" bracket that featured a selection of books written by women. Voting took place throughout the month until one title remained. The March (Book) Madness 2022 champion is Dear Miss Metropolitan by Carolyn Ferrell:

"Fern seeks refuge from her mother’s pill-popping and boyfriends via Soul Train; Gwin finds salvation in the music of Prince much to her congregation’s dismay and Jesenia, miles ahead of her classmates at her gifted and talented high school, is a brainy and precocious enigma. None of this matters to Boss Man, the monster who abducts them and holds them captive in a dilapidated house in Queens.

On the night they are finally rescued, throngs line the block gawking and claiming ignorance. Among them is lifetime resident Miss Metropolitan, advice columnist for the local weekly, but how could anyone who fancies herself a “newspaperwoman” have missed a horror story unfolding right across the street? And why is it that only two of the three girls—now women—were found? The mystery haunts the two remaining “victim girls” who are subjected to the further trauma of becoming symbols as they continuously adapt to their present and their unrelenting past." [Summary from publisher's website]

Visit the HWC Library to check out a copy!

Trivia: Women's History Month @ HWC

Question mark with a circle around it.

Last month we posted a trivia question about women's history at HWC: In its sixty-year history, three women have served as presidents of Harold Washington College. Who were they? 

The answer is: Bernice Miller (1984-1993); Nancy DeSombre (1994-2003); and Margaret Martyn (2014-2017).

Visit the library to see our plaques of some of HWC's past presidents including Bernice Miller and Nancy DeSombre.

We're on Instagram!

Add us on Instagram @hwc_library for news and information about resources, events, and more at the HWC Library.

Past Newsletters

Take a look at our previous newsletters for any information you might have missed.

Contact Us

 Contact Us | 312-553-5760 | 30 E. Lake Street, 5th Floor | Chicago, IL 60601