Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HWC Library Newsletter: August 2022: Home

Harold Washington College Library Newsletter * August 2022

Harold Washington College Library Newsletter * August 2022

Student at study carrel.

Welcome to the Fall 2022 semester!

What is the largest classroom in the building? The HWC Library, of course! Located on the 5th floor, the Library offers services and resources for all of the HWC community including research assistance, access to course textbooks, books for research or for leisure reading, a quiet space to study, curriculum support, and much more. We are located on the 5th floor of the College. Our Fall 2022 hours of operation are Monday - Thursday from 8AM to 8PM and Friday from 8AM to 4PM. Whether remote or in person, we wish you a successful and fulfilling semester and look forward to seeing you.

New Website

The Library's website has a new look! Visit our homepage to access online resources and learn more about what the HWC Library can offer.

Chat Reference Hours

Librarians are available via chat during the fall semester. Chat hours are: Monday - Friday: 8:00 am-10 pm and Saturday - Sunday: 10 am-10 pm. The chat box feature will open on the lower right corner of any library page including the main CCC Libraries information page.

 

Screen capture of the CCC Libraries Homepage with links to the individual campus libraries.

 

On the HWC Library homepage, you can also chat with a librarian by clicking on the blue "Chat With A Librarian" button on the left side of the page.

Faculty Collaboration

In 2019, the library piloted a program that embedded librarians in English 102 classes. These librarians assisted with student research needs, supported up to five class sessions per semester, and created readings/assignments that would support English 102 assignments. If you are interested in learning more about the embedded librarian program, please let us know. As always, we are deeply committed to ensuring that your students are getting all the help they need. We build department-, course-, and class-specific research guides. Please see the links below for examples of other services we offer:

 

Featured eBooks: Books to Make You LOL

Cover of Samantha Irby's Wow, No Thank You
Cover of David Sedaris' Happy-Go-Lucky
Cover of Here For It
Cover of Born A Crime
Cover of Funny in Farsi

Textbooks in the Library

Textbook didn't arrive in time for the first day of class? Not able to purchase a copy of a textbook you need this semester? Did you know that the HWC Library has a collection of current textbooks (also known as our Course Reserves)?  Stop by to find out if the Library has what you are looking for. While items in Course Reserve cannot be taken out of the library, we have copiers and scanners available if you need specific chapters in class or at home. Please keep in mind that there may be instances in which the Library does not have a textbook being used in the current semester. Visit us for more information. 

Library Request Forms

Schedule Library Instruction (for HWC faculty)

Schedule a Research Consultation (for all HWC community)

Suggest a Purchase (for all HWC community)

Request an Interlibrary Loan (for all HWC community)

Request a Video for Online Viewing (for HWC faculty)

Faculty Publications (for HWC faculty)

Featured Database: JSTOR

JSTOR provides full-text access to back issues of scholarly journal, as well chapters from selected books and selected images and documents in a variety of disciplines. The JSTOR databases is part of the Library's collection of online databases. Remember that remote access to our online databases requires you to log in with your CCC username (do not include the @student.ccc.edu part) and password.

Shelf Talker

The Last Black Unicorn by Tiffany Haddish was an encouraging and at times funny delight to read. We know our trials and triumphs build character, and it was interesting to read how Tiffany dealt with hers. Her book encouraged me in my endeavors to pursue my dreams no matter how difficult it becomes. Visit the library to check out this book and for all your reading needs.          -- Veronica Kelly, College Library Assistant II 

We're on Instagram!

Connect with us on Instagram @hwc_library for news and information about resources, events, and more at the HWC Library.

Past Newsletters

Take a look at our previous newsletters for any information you might have missed.

Contact Us

 Contact Us | 312-553-5760 | 30 E. Lake Street, 5th Floor | Chicago, IL 60601