Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HWC Newsletter: February 2021: Home

Harold Washington College Library Newsletter * February 2021

Greetings from the Harold Washington College Library!

The library is celebrating Black History Month in the February issue of our newsletter. Did you know the College once published a yearbook? We dug up this photo of the Afro-American Club in the 1968 yearbook for The Loop College. Harold Washington College was The Loop College until December of 1987 when it was as renamed for Harold Washington, the first Black mayor of Chicago, who died suddenly in November of that year. We invite you to take a look at the featured books, online resources, and programs highlighting the history and celebrating the contributions of African American people.

From the Archives

Loop College Afro-American Club, 1968. Source: The Loop College Yearbook.

Chat Reference Hours

Librarians are available via chat Monday through Sunday from 8 am to 10 pm. Look for the chat box on the lower right corner of any library page including the main CCC Libraries information page.

Screen capture of the CCC Libraries Homepage with links to the individual campus libraries.

On the HWC Library homepage, you can also chat with a librarian by clicking on the blue "Chat With A Librarian" button on the left.

Screen capture of the HWC Library's homepage.

Speaking of Books...

Did you know that you can return any HWC Library book checked out this semester or in a previous semester and no late fine will be charged? Just drop them in the library book return bin located next to the security desk on the first floor of the College.

Library Request Forms

Schedule Library Instruction (for HWC faculty)

Schedule A Research Consultation (for all HWC community)

Suggest A Purchase (for all HWC community)

Featured Databases: Black History Month

Featured Databases: Black History Month

Black Thought and Culture, Black Studies in Video, and The African American Experience can be found, along with all of the library's databases, on the Library's Full List of Databases. Remember that to access remotely, you will need to log in with your CCC username (do not include the @student.ccc.edu part) and password.

Reading Recommendation

Brit Bennett's The Vanishing Half is the story of twin sisters "inseparable as children, who ultimately choose to live in two very different worlds, one black and one white." Longlisted for the National Book Award, Bennett "produces a story that is at once a riveting, emotional family story and a brilliant exploration of the American history of passing." 

The Vanishing Half is part of the HWC Library's eBook collection. As with all subscription databases, accessing the eBook database requires that you log in using your CCC username (do not included the @student.ccc.edu) and password. To download eBooks to your device, you will need to create an additional account with the ebook provider, EBSCO.

*Quotes from the book description in the EBSCO eBooks Collection record.

Black History Month Events

All events listed are free and online, but require advance registration to receive participation links.

Feb. 9: Poetry Workshop: Persona Poetry + Phillis Wheatley (National Museum of African American History and Culture) 

Click here for more events from the National Museum of African American History and Culture.

Feb. 9: Film Discussion: Explained: Racial Wealth Gap (Chicago Public Library)

Feb. 11: Douglass Day 2021: Transcribing the Papers of Mary Church Terrell, a founder of BHM (MX / OH)

Feb. 16: Crafternoon: BHM / Mardi Gras Workshop (HW)

Feb. 17: Introduction to African American Genealogy (MX College)

Feb. 18: Poetry Night (Wright College)

Feb. 20: African Diaspora in Arts Panel (Chicago Public Library)

Feb. 22: A Romantic Evening: A reading from the romance novel Reckless by Stacey Abrams nom de plume Selena Montgomery (Wright College)

https://cccedu.zoom.us/j/99496344880?pwd=TkJIeFRCN2NJRlVDRGllV2lvaTV1Zz09

Feb. 23: Wikipedia Essentials: Black History Month (MX College)

Contact Us

 Contact Us | 312-553-5760 | 30 E. Lake Street, 5th Floor | Chicago, IL 60601