Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HWC Newsletter: February 2022: Home

Harold Washington College Library Newsletter * February 2022

Harold Washington College Library Newsletter * February 2022

The HWC Library is your college resource for a variety of needs: research assistance, accessing course textbooks, finding books for research or for leisure reading, a quiet space to study, and much more. We are located on the 5th floor of the College. Our spring semester hours of operation are Monday / Tuesday from 8AM to 8PMWednesday / Thursday from 8AM to 6PM, and Friday from 8AM to 4PM. We look forward to seeing you!

Chat Reference Hours

Librarians are available via chat Monday through Sunday from 10 am to 10 pm. The chat box feature will open on the lower right corner of any library page including the main CCC Libraries information page.

 

Screen capture of the CCC Libraries Homepage with links to the individual campus libraries.

 

On the HWC Library homepage, you can also chat with a librarian by clicking on the blue "Chat With A Librarian" button on the left side of the page.

Featured eBooks: Black History Month

Cover of Stamped from the Beginning
Cover of Rooted in the Earth
Cover of May We Forever Stand
Cover of Graphite
Cover of Kindred
Cover of Still Can't Do My Daughter's Hair
Cover of Sing Unburied Sing
Cover of Stony the Road

Featured Magazine

Essence

Essence is just one of the magazines available through Flipster, part of the library's collection of online databases. Access the most current issue, as well as back issues, of popular magazines including VogueTimeThe New Yorker, National GeographicSports Illustrated, and more. Download the Flipster app to access the CCC subscriptions from your phone or other device. Remember that to access remotely, you will need to log in with your CCC username (do not include the @student.ccc.edu part) and password.

New eBooks

Cover of Oryx and Crake
Cover of Kinder Than Solitude
Cover of White Teeth
Cover of Faces in the Crowd
Cover of Bedrock Faith
Cover of Writing Down the Bones
Cover of Dear Friend, From My Life I Write to You in Your Life

HWCL #colourourcollections Coloring Book

Black and white image of woman from the Colour Our Collections sheets.          

#colourourcollections is an annual online "coloring festival" started in 2016 by The New York Academy of Medicine. Libraries, museums, archives, and other cultural institutions are invited to share free coloring pages compiled from images from their collections. Every February, new coloring books are added to the website. 

If you've stopped by the library's Study Break Station, you may have noticed that the coloring sheets available are from the #colourourcollections website. Most are from Chicago or Illinois institutions such as the University of Illinois Libraries, the Newberry Library, and the Glessner House. This year, the HWC Library is adding a coloring book of images from past issues of The Garland Court Review, which can be found in the library's archives.

Need a break? Access and print your own copy of our coloring book from the PDF link below, or visit the HWC Library for a copy. If you're in the library, color pencils are available at the Study Break Station in the SE corner of the library.

Remote Classes in the Library - Spring 2022 Policy

In order to maintain a shared space that is conducive to quiet study, but that also accommodates the needs of students attending remote classes in the library, we ask that visitors read and follow the current policy for attending remote classes (classes on Zoom) while in the library space.

Library Request Forms

Schedule Library Instruction (for HWC faculty)

Schedule A Research Consultation (for all HWC community)

Suggest A Purchase (for all HWC community)

Request an Interlibrary Loan (for all HWC community)

Upcoming Events

Join us on the last Friday of each month at 1:00 PM in 501K for Movies in the Library. On February 25th we will screen:

"At the dawn of the 20th century, a multi-generational family in the Gullah community on the Sea Islands off of South Carolina - former West African slaves who adopted many of their ancestors' Yoruba traditions - struggle to maintain their cultural heritage and folklore while contemplating a migration to the mainland, even further from their roots.

The first wide release by a black female filmmaker, DAUGHTERS OF THE DUST was met with wild critical acclaim and rapturous audience response when it initially opened in 1991. Casting a long legacy, DAUGHTERS OF THE DUST still resonates today, most recently as a major in influence on Beyonce's video album Lemonade." [Description from Kanopy]

Running Time: 113 mins

Upcoming Events

Workshop: Transitioning to OER 

If you have ever wanted to make your class more accessible with OER, join Professors Todd Heldt and Carrie Nepstad on Zoom, February 24, 1PM-2PM. They will walk you through the process of transitioning your class to open educational resources.  

https://cccedu.zoom.us/skype/83508958431

To learn more about OER, visit https://researchguides.ccc.edu/transitioningtoOER

Featured Display: Blind Date With A Book

Photo of hearts and Blind Date with a Book sign           

Looking for something new to read? Feeling adventurous? Stop by the library and go on a blind date with a book. Read the descriptions and opening line on the brown wrapper. If a book sounds interesting, take it to the circulation desk and check it out. Unwrap it to reveal the book's cover, and enjoy. If you have feelings about the book you selected--good, bad, a favorite lines, etc.--send us an email to let us know.

Past Newsletters

Take a look at our previous newsletters for any information you might have missed.

Contact Us

 Contact Us | 312-553-5760 | 30 E. Lake Street, 5th Floor | Chicago, IL 60601