Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HWC Newsletter: March 2021: Home

Harold Washington College Library Newsletter * March 2021

Greetings from the Harold Washington College Library!

We're marching into spring (and midterms and spring break) this month. Remember that while classes continue remotely, librarians are available via chat to guide you in finding the resources and information you will need to complete your research assignments this semester. If you're ready to do some leisure reading during spring break, the HWC Library has a growing collection of popular fiction (see our featured selection of mysteries and crime fiction below), YA, and graphic novels that are perfect for escaping into new environments. Books in the library can be placed on hold and picked up at any campus offering pick-up hours. Wishing you luck with midterms and a relaxing spring break!

From the Archives

Ever wonder what HWC students looked like more than thirty years ago? Or what library research was like before the Internet? Check out these vintage photos of the HWC Library. Microfilm readers! Pamphlets files! Card catalogs! The images were taken in 1984 for use in the Loop College Library Handbook.

Female student using pamphlet file.

Ever wonder what HWC students looked like more than thirty years ago? Or what library research was like before the Internet? Check out these vintage photos of the HWC Library. Microfilm readers! Pamphlets files! Card catalogs! The images were taken in 1984 for use in the Loop College Library Handbook.

Student checking out books.

Ever wonder what HWC students looked like more than thirty years ago? Or what library research was like before the Internet? Check out these vintage photos of the HWC Library. Microfilm readers! Pamphlets files! Card catalogs! The images were taken in 1984 for use in the Loop College Library Handbook.

Student watching video.

Ever wonder what HWC students looked like more than thirty years ago? Or what library research was like before the Internet? Check out these vintage photos of the HWC Library. Microfilm readers! Pamphlets files! Card catalogs! The images were taken in 1984 for use in the Loop College Library Handbook.

Card catalog.

Ever wonder what HWC students looked like more than thirty years ago? Or what library research was like before the Internet? Check out these vintage photos of the HWC Library. Microfilm readers! Pamphlets files! Card catalogs! The images were taken in 1984 for use in the Loop College Library Handbook.

Student at study carrel.

Ever wonder what HWC students looked like more than thirty years ago? Or what library research was like before the Internet? Check out these vintage photos of the HWC Library. Microfilm readers! Pamphlets files! Card catalogs! The images were taken in 1984 for use in the Loop College Library Handbook.

Students using microfilm reader.

Ever wonder what HWC students looked like more than thirty years ago? Or what library research was like before the Internet? Check out these vintage photos of the HWC Library. Microfilm readers! Pamphlets files! Card catalogs! The images were taken in 1984 for use in the Loop College Library Handbook.

Card catalog.

Ever wonder what HWC students looked like more than thirty years ago? Or what library research was like before the Internet? Check out these vintage photos of the HWC Library. Microfilm readers! Pamphlets files! Card catalogs! The images were taken in 1984 for use in the Loop College Library Handbook.

Students studying in library.

Ever wonder what HWC students looked like more than thirty years ago? Or what library research was like before the Internet? Check out these vintage photos of the HWC Library. Microfilm readers! Pamphlets files! Card catalogs! The images were taken in 1984 for use in the Loop College Library Handbook.

Students using card file.

Ever wonder what HWC students looked like more than thirty years ago? Or what library research was like before the Internet? Check out these vintage photos of the HWC Library. Microfilm readers! Pamphlets files! Card catalogs! The images were taken in 1984 for use in the Loop College Library Handbook.

Chat Reference Hours

Librarians are available via chat Monday through Sunday from 8 am to 10 pm. Look for the chat box on the lower right corner of any library page including the main CCC Libraries information page.

Screen capture of the CCC Libraries Homepage with links to the individual campus libraries.

On the HWC Library homepage, you can also chat with a librarian by clicking on the blue "Chat With A Librarian" button on the left.

Screen capture of the HWC Library's homepage.

Featured New Ebooks

Featured New Ebooks

FEATURED NEW EBOOKS

You can search for eBooks in two ways: (1) By going to the Library's online catalog, selecting the "Online" tab and entering your title, author or topic in the search box. Look for the results that show the eBook button on the right side. (2) By searching in the EBSCO eBook Collection. Remember that you will need to log in using your CCC username and password to access the full text of eBooks.

Speaking of Books...

Did you know that you can return any HWC Library book checked out this semester or in a previous semester and no late fine will be charged? Just drop them in the library book return bin located next to the security desk on the first floor of the College.

Library Request Forms

Schedule Library Instruction (for HWC faculty)

Schedule A Research Consultation (for all HWC community)

Suggest A Purchase (for all HWC community)

Featured Database

Women and Social Movements can be found, along with all of the library's databases, on the Library's Full List of Databases. Remember that to access remotely, you will need to log in with your CCC username (do not include the @student.ccc.edu part) and password.

Reading Recommendation

    

"It's 1993, and Generation X pulses to the beat of Kurt Cobain and the grunge movement. Sixteen-year-old Maggie Lynch is uprooted from big-city Chicago to a windswept town on the Irish Sea. Surviving on care packages of Spin magazine and Twizzlers from her rocker uncle Kevin, she wonders if she'll ever find her place in this new world. When first love and sudden death simultaneously strike, a naive but determined Maggie embarks on a forbidden pilgrimage that will take her to a seedy part of Dublin and on to a life-altering night in Rome to fulfill a dying wish. Through it all, Maggie discovers an untapped inner strength to do the most difficult but rewarding thing of all-- live.--" (Description from book jacket)

The Carnival at Bray, Chicago author Jessie Ann Foley's award winning debut novel, is part of the HWC Library's collection. If you are interested in reading this, or any other book in our library, you can place a hold through the Request It button in the online catalog.

Featured Mysteries and Crime Fiction

Contact Us

 Contact Us | 312-553-5760 | 30 E. Lake Street, 5th Floor | Chicago, IL 60601