Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HWC Newsletter: March 2022: Home

Harold Washington College Library Newsletter * March 2022

Harold Washington College Library Newsletter * March 2022

The HWC Library is your college resource for a variety of needs: research assistance, accessing course textbooks, finding books for research or for leisure reading, a quiet space to study, and much more. We are located on the 5th floor of the College. Our spring semester hours of operation are Monday / Tuesday from 8AM to 8PMWednesday / Thursday from 8AM to 6PM, and Friday from 8AM to 4PM. We look forward to seeing you!

Chat Reference Hours

Librarians are available via chat Monday through Sunday from 10 am to 10 pm. The chat box feature will open on the lower right corner of any library page including the main CCC Libraries information page.

 

Screen capture of the CCC Libraries Homepage with links to the individual campus libraries.

 

On the HWC Library homepage, you can also chat with a librarian by clicking on the blue "Chat With A Librarian" button on the left side of the page.

Featured eBooks: Women's History Month

Cover of Girldhood
Cover of Women and Other Monsters
Cover of Open Skies: My Life as Afghanistan's First Female Pilot
Cover of Gender, Tenure, and the Pursuit of Work-Life -Family Stability
Cover of Ladies of the Magna Carta
Girls and Women of Color in STEM
Cover of We Are Dancing for You
Cover of Unframing the 'Bad Women

Featured Database: Women and Social Movements

Landing page for Women and Social Movements database

Women and Social Movements covers the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. The collection includes thousands of primary documents. This database can be found, along with all of the library's databases, on the Library's Full List of Databases. Remember that to access remotely, you will need to log in with your CCC username (do not include the @student.ccc.edu part) and password.

Featured Magazine

Bitch Magazine: A Feminist Response to Pop Culture is just one of the magazines available through Flipster, part of the library's collection of online databases. Access the most current issue, as well as back issues, of popular magazines including VogueTimeThe New Yorker, National GeographicSports Illustrated, and more. Download the Flipster app to access the CCC subscriptions from your phone or other device. Remember that to access remotely, you will need to log in with your CCC username (do not include the @student.ccc.edu part) and password.

Featured Display: Women's History Month

Display of books for women's history month on a wooden display shelf.

 Book display for Women's History Month on a small display shelf.

Unless otherwise noted, all books featured in displays in the library are available to be checked out with your student I.D. card. See a librarian for assistance if needed.

Remote Classes in the Library - Spring 2022 Policy

In order to maintain a shared space that is conducive to quiet study, but that also accommodates the needs of students attending remote classes in the library, we ask that visitors read and follow the current policy for attending remote classes (classes on Zoom) while in the library space.

Library Request Forms

Schedule Library Instruction (for HWC faculty)

Schedule A Research Consultation (for all HWC community)

Suggest A Purchase (for all HWC community)

Request an Interlibrary Loan (for all HWC community)

Upcoming Events

Join us on the last Friday of each month at 1:00 PM in 501K for Movies in the Library. On March 25th we will screen:

Poster for the documentary Worlds of Ursula K. Le Guin

"Best-known for groundbreaking science fiction and fantasy works such as A Wizard of Earthsea, The Left Hand of Darkness, and The Dispossessed, Ursula K. Le Guin defiantly held her ground on the margin of 'respectable' literature until the sheer excellence of her work, at long last, forced the mainstream to embrace fantastic literature. Her fascinating story has never before been captured on film. Produced with Le Guin's participation over the course of a decade, WORLDS OF URSULA K. LE GUIN is a journey through the writer's career and her worlds, both real and fantastic -- an intimate journey of self-discovery as she comes into her own as a major feminist author, opening new doors for the imagination and inspiring generations of women and other marginalized writers along the way. The film features stunning animation and reflections by literary luminaries including Margaret Atwood, Neil Gaiman, David Mitchell, Michael Chabon, and more." [Description from Kanopy]

Running Time: 69 mins.

Featured Display: March (Book) Madness

           

Celebrate March Madness and Women's History Month with us! Cast your vote in the Library's "Sweet 16" which features a selection of books written by women. You don't need to have read the books to vote. Vote based on whatever draws you--the title, the description, the cover, the setting. And if you're interested in one or more of the books, all the featured titles are available for check out. Just stop by the reference desk and a librarian can assist you. Ballots and ballot box are located just inside the library entrance by the brackets wall.

Voting Schedule:

Sweet 16: March 7 - March 11

Elite 8: March 14 - March 18

Final 4: March 21 - March 25

Championship: March 28 - March 31

Trivia: Women's History Month @ HWC

Question mark with a circle around it.

In its sixty-year history, three women have served as presidents of Harold Washington College. Who were they? Drop us an email. The answer will be posted here in next month's newsletter.

Past Newsletters

Take a look at our previous newsletters for any information you might have missed.

Contact Us

 Contact Us | 312-553-5760 | 30 E. Lake Street, 5th Floor | Chicago, IL 60601