Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HWC Newsletter: May 2021: Home

Harold Washington College Library Newsletter * May 2021

Greetings from the Harold Washington College Library

Image of graduation cap and open book

As spring semester comes to an end, we are sending best wishes to all the HWC 2020-2021 graduates! It has been a challenging academic year, but you made it. We hope you are able to enjoy this accomplishment. For those who continue to work their way toward the goal of graduation after this semester, remember that registration for Summer and Fall 2021 semesters is now open! Login to your myCCC.edu to add classes to your shopping cart and enroll. If you need help, visit the Advising Office via Zoom at https://cccedu.zoom.us/j/864397065. Don’t forget – payment is due within three (3) days of registration. Visit Financial Aid Office or Business Office virtually via Zoom today with questions regarding payment. Wishing all of you a safe and enjoyable summer!

From the Archives

Student photos from 1968 Loop College yearbook.

Class of 1968 - The Loop College

Wishing our 2020-2021 graduates much luck and success with their goals as they leave Harold Washington College and move on to their next stage of life!

Chat Reference Hours

Librarians are available via chat Monday through Sunday from 8 am to 10 pm. The chat box feature will open on the lower right corner of any library page including the main CCC Libraries information page.

 

Screen capture of the CCC Libraries Homepage with links to the individual campus libraries.

 

On the HWC Library homepage, you can also chat with a librarian by clicking on the "Chat With A Librarian" button.

 

Screen capture of the HWC Library's homepage.

Featured eBooks: Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month

Cover of Asian American Media Activism
Book cover of Minor Feelings
Cover of The Two Faces of Exclusion
Cover of We Are Not Free
Cover of On Earth We Are Briefly Gorgeous
Cover of Racial Ambiguity

Past Newsletter issues

Library Request Forms

Schedule Library Instruction (for HWC faculty)

Schedule A Research Consultation (for all HWC community)

Suggest A Purchase (for all HWC community)

Featured Database

 

Access prep materials for CLEP, GRE, TOEFL, vocational entrance exams, and much more through Peterson's Test and Career Prep. The database also includes information to help individuals explore colleges and universities as well as careers. The database is part of the library's online collection. Remember that to access remotely, you will need to log in with your CCC username (do not include the @student.ccc.edu part) and password. To access materials in this database, you will also be prompted to create an account with Peterson's.

Featured Database

Writer's Reference Center is part of the Library's Online DatabasesRemember that to access remotely, you will need to log in with your CCC username (do not include the @student.ccc.edu part) and password.

Returning Library Books

Did you know that you can return any HWC Library book checked out this semester or in a previous semester and no late fine will be charged? Just drop them in the library book return bin located next to the security desk on the first floor of the College.

Contact Us

 Contact Us | 312-553-5760 | 30 E. Lake Street, 5th Floor | Chicago, IL 60601